5

Shulchan Aruch, Orach Chaim 196:1 says that you shouldn't: אבל [צ"ל אכל] דבר איסור אף על פי שאינו אלא מדרבנן אין מזמנין עליו ואין מברכין עליו לא בתחלה ולא בסוף: One who ate a forbidden food, even if it's forbidden only Rabbinically, cannot be included in a mezuman [a quorum for Grace After Meals], and does not recite a blessing before or after eating ...


2

Shulchan Aruch and the Ramah on Orach Chaim 6:1 bring different explanations to the ending of this Bracha (see there for different explanations for the blessing itself). The Shulchan Aruch explains רופא כל בשר: רופא חולי כל בשר ע"ש הנקבים שברא בו והוציא פסולת מאכלו כי אם יתעפש בבטן ימות והוצאתו הוא רפואה. [The phrase] "The healer of the sickness ...


2

Only the 5 grains are automatically ikkar, not fruits. Mishnah Brurah 204 sk 57 (also see the Shulchan Aruch he is commenting on for some context): הרי הוא עיקר - המ"א ושארי האחרונים הסכימו דהוא דוקא בחמשת מיני דגן אמרינן דהיכא דבא ליתן טעם אף שהוא מיעוט הוא העיקר וכדלקמן בסימן ר"ח ס"ב אבל בשארי מינים אזלינן בתר רובא


2

Keep in mind that there are several different categories of non-kosher food. Something like non-kosher beef is a real problem. Similarly, Chometz on Pesach, Yayin Nesech (wine used in idol worship) and meat with milk. On the other hand, food that is not certified as kosher may indeed be kosher or non-kosher in a (relatively) minor way. If you eat non-kosher ...


1

No. The Shulchan Aruch, Orach Hayyim 196:1, says: If one ate a forbidden item (even it is forbidden only by the sages), one cannot make a zimun on it or say a blessing on it, neither before or after it.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible