Hot answers tagged

19

The custom of eating dairy on Shavuos is mentioned by several ראשונים including: רבינו אביגדור צרפתי- probably the earliest source (12th century), possible one of the בעלי התוספות פירושים ופסקים לרבינו אביגדור הצרפתי על התורה (מהדורת הרשקוביץ, ירושלים תשנ"ו) פסקים תקצה-ח The Kol Bo (סימן נב) Orchos Chaim (הל' תפלת המועדים אות יג)


16

Human breastmilk is 100% kosher once it has left the woman's body (Shulchan Aruch YD 81:7). Furthermore, it is pareve, but shouldn't be cooked with meat to avoid issues of Marat Ayin (ibid. 87:4).


16

When you open the sealed bulk carton, they can no longer know that it has been certified. It is the same reason that an airline kosher meal must be served to the passenger still sealed. Once it has been unsealed, the certification no longer applies. One way to handle this is to have the Jewish chaplain be there when it is opened and seal the individual trays....


12

This answer has been marked "community wiki," which means that it's open to all1 to edit. Please do! Please preserve the alphabetical order of the list. If you do not see something on the list, consider that it may be alphabetized by the product name or the brand name. Please include the date at which you obtained your information. Outdated information (...


10

Apparently, some Dannon yogurts (with K) and Yoplait yogurts (with KD) are under the supervision of Rabbi David Sheinkopf and Rabbi Barnett Hasden, respectively. (Regarding Rabbi Hasden's hashgacha, see this related question). I do not know whether either of those rabbis provide supervision with kashrus standards that are widely considered acceptable. (...


10

While I can't comment specifically on the issues involved with powdered milk and splitting them into single servings I can make a few suggestions: Look into kosher single serving packets ( I don't know if that fits the constraints of the jail budget) but there are plenty of companies (e.g. Carnation, etc.) that are certified kosher. Consult with a Jewish ...


9

I'd like to propose a different way of looking at the possibility of confusion between chicken and meat. Most people explain the problem is that the Rabbis decreed that chicken can have a Halachic status of meat, since it is similar in appearance and may be confused with meat. If so, why wouldn't such a decree apply to all things that may be mistaken for ...


9

Although the Torah says not to cook "in the milk of the mother", this is a common example, since the mother's milk is at hand. In actuality any meat is forbidden with any milk. (Tur Yore De'a 87, Shulchan Aruch YD 87:2)


9

We learn in Shulchan Aruch Orach Chaim 328:33 סימן שכח - דין חולה בשבת: לג גּוֹנֵחַ, מֻתָּר לִינֹק חָלָב מֵהַבְּהֵמָה, דְּבִמְקוֹם צַעְרָא לֹא גָּזְרוּ רַבָּנָן. וְיֵשׁ אוֹמְרִים שֶׁאִם אֵין לוֹ אֶלָּא צַעַר שֶׁל רָעָב, אָסוּר לִינֹק מֵהַבְּהֵמָה בְּשַׁבָּת ‏ Somebody with [some kind of] heart issues may suckle directly from an animal on Shabbat [...


7

From Dairy Free Cooking: (For explanations on what they are and how they're used see the link). Butter Casein Cheese Cream Curd Delactosed Lactalbumin Lactoglobulin Lactose Milk Recaldent Whey and Whey Proteins (and anything else that begins with whey) Also check out: http://www.woodheadpublishing.com/en/book.aspx?bookID=1512


7

Dannon has OU Certification on some products. The ones with a plain K are certified by Rabbi Dr. David I. Sheinkopf. Those products contain Beef Gelatin which some Kosher Certifiers will allow even if the cows were not slaughtered in a Kosher manner. I imagine that Dannon doesn't say the D because it is considered obvious. That used to be standard practice ...


6

I asked this question of the OU when I was beginning to keep kosher -- if it just had an "OU" and not a "D" could I assume it was parve? Their answer was yes. They of course didn't speak for anybody else, but I got the impression that this was normative then and, since then, I haven't seen a case that didn't fit (other than printing errors!). So "D" is ...


6

Waiting six hours is not based on the scientific definition of digestion. The Talmud (Chullin 105a) says that one must wait from one meal to the next. There is a disagreement among the Rishonim if that actually means from one meal to the next, or if it means the amount of time between the morning and evening meals, which would mean approximately six hours. ...


6

Nitei Gavriel Shavuos 29:1 note 1 mentions from Kovetz Bais Talmud that in the times of the second Bais HaMikdash they used to eat on Shavuos (לפתות מלחם ומלח (חלב. This sounds a bit like cheesecake to me.


6

OU.org says the cone does not need a brocho; it is subordinate to the ice cream. Even if ice cream is eaten in a cone, only Shehakol is necessary, since the cone is eaten only because of the ice cream and is clearly subordinate to it. Its purpose is actually not so much to be eaten as to hold the ice cream and to prevent the hands from becoming ...


6

Yoni is correct, companies ask for kosher certifications for all sorts of reasons. (I know a rabbi who had his phone ringing off the hook from two American sugar companies begging for certification. Neither needed it from the laws of kosher per se, but both were hoping to sell to a confection company that had made a simple blanket rule, "all our suppliers ...


6

Very good question with a simple answer. It used to be made from rennet obtained from the cow's 4th stomach. I recall that almost all Miller's and Migdal cheeses were made this way. As to why this is kosher as well as not considered mixing meat and milk, see this article and this M.Y. question . As this method has become costly and, perhaps, the market has ...


6

The Torah mandates "simcha" on Yom Tov. The Talmud understands "simcha" to refer to eating meat and wine. Hence, the obligation to eat meat on Yom Tov. The exact parameters of this obligation are subject to much debate among the Poskim. The fours assumptions you quote are held by some Rabbis and rejected by others. As always, ask your LOR. The obligation ...


6

I think the question confuses three different status of milk chalav Israel: milk from kosher animals (e.g., cow, sheep) whose milking was supervised by a Jew -- and is kosher according to all opinions chalav stam ("plain milk"): milk from kosher animals whose milking was not supervised by a Jew. R Moshe Feinstein (YD 1:47-49) held that, in countries with ...


5

For Ashkenazim at least, the halacha is like Tosafot, that once one finishes the meat meal, if he starts a new meal he may consume dairy. However, in the common case, people follow their minhag of how long to wait. See the Rama in Shulchan Aruch Yoreh Deah 89:1, as I've seen it traditionally understood -- that he paskens like the יש אומרים that one needs not ...


5

For those who want a sourced response check out this great article: margarine misconceptions and maris ayin. Basically we follow the Kreisi Upleisi's exception that once something becomes common it lessens the prohibition of maris ayin. Nowadays no one would think twice about "buttering" your bread with margarine etc.; the same would apply with soy milk. ...


5

There is a mishnah that explicitly permits fish and milk: Hullin [8:1]: כל הבשר אסור לבשל בחלב, חוץ מבשר דגים וחגבים My translation: "One is not permitted to cook [and eat] any meat in milk, except for the meat of fish and [permitted types of] locust" So no, there is no halachic problem with eating fish and milk together, or else the Mishnah, ...


5

To continue Shalom's answer, I would like to bring down the opinion of the Taz that says the Bet Yosef made a misprint and meant to write fish with meat. So wrote the Hida. However, Maran HaRab Obadia Yosef in Yechawe Daat writes "Yesh Lehimana" meaning that is prohibited according to Sephardim. Rab Obadia Yosef brings a Kula from the Kaf HaHaim that butter ...


5

The Ben Ish Chay (year 2, B'shalach 20):Sometimes people make the aforementioned yogurt before Shabas: they heat milk, put it in a receptacle, and put a little made yogurt (or other binding thing) so this milk will harden and become yogurt. It's done by morning.But sometimes they see in the morning that it's still milk: it hasn't hardened to become yogurt. ...


5

I asked them and received the following reply from Rabbi Moshe D Gutnick (with permission to post here): In NZ all ethanol is produced from whey and is Dairy. Therefore all ethanol based alcoholic beverages such as Vodka produced in NZ must be considered dairy. Beer was also included in that as a precaution. However it is now quite clear that none of the ...


5

Kashrus Agencies are often asked by food and other product companies for certification, even when halachically no certification is required. The companies are told that there is no technical need for certification but many proceed with obtaining certification nonetheless for a variety of reasons: their competition has certification, the belief that the ...


5

I emailed the OU with this question. Here's their response: Likely this cheese would indeed be pareve, but because of confusion (maris ayin) one would need to treat it like cheese. And one would not be permitted to eat it with meat. Since these products are not yet commercially available, and the OU has not been asked to certify these ...


5

Interestingly the Pitchei Tshuva on SA YD 89:1, in the context of eating meat after milk, brings an opinion from Beer Heitev shel Maharit that these could be shaot zemaniot. He quickly writes the Pri Megadim, Hokhmat Adam and Knesset Hagedolah disagree and the minhag is not to use shaot zemaniot. עבה"ט של מהרי"ט ז"ל אם הם שעות זמניות. ועיין כו"פ ופמ"ג ...


4

See here footnote 38, which discusses the OU policy about countries that at least have the regulation, even though they don't have government inspection. (Basically the OU will allow it if they find the company to be in fear of the government). This ends up including China, Poland, Lithuania, and Ukraine. However, I have heard from someone in the Kashrus ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible