Skip to main content

Four extra parshiot -- Shekalim, Zachor, Parah, HaChodesh -- read between approximately Rosh Chodesh Adar and Rosh Chodesh Nisan.

The four parshiot (Hebrew: ארבע פרשיות) are paragraphs from the Torah read on four separate Shabbatot from (or before) Rosh Chodesh Adar to Rosh Chodesh Nisan.

They are:

  • Shekalim שקלים -- Shabbat on or before Rosh Chodesh Adar (Shmot 30:11-16)
  • Zachor זכור -- Shabbat before Purim (Devarim 25:17-19)
  • Parah פרה -- Shabbat after Purim (Bamidbar 19:1-22)
  • HaChodesh החודש -- Shabbat on or before Rosh Chodesh Nisan (Shmot 12:1-20)

See also: