11

People have attempted all sorts of mental gymnastics to develop a Theory of Everything vis-a-vis kitniyot. I spare my poor brain and follow Rav Moshe Feinstein's opinion (Igros, OC3:63): it's kitniyot if it happened to have been banned (or "warned against"); not if it didn't. Rav Moshe also suspects that at some point they stopped adding foods to the list ...


11

There is no special Talmudic dispensation regarding oats. The Mishna lists a grain called שבולת שועל as able to become Chametz. Most Rishonim don't identify that grain with what we call oats. Some Rishonim do identify that grain with what we call oats. Your point is one very strong proof for the former position, according to which indeed oats can't become ...


8

(To fulfill the Mitzva of eating Matza at the Seder the Matza must be made with proper grains (Mishna Pesachim 2:5) not Kitniyot. The foods being discusses here are being called "Matza" more as a pseudonym because of the similarity of the baking process involved.) Chayei Adam 127:1 says explicitly that rice Matza is allowed. Shulchan Arukh HaRav 453:5 says ...


7

It is not the case that a ruling in the Talmud will always overcome any possible custom developed later. In Talmudic times, there was no customary prohibition of kitniyot. Rav Huna, in the quote, is giving an example of what may be used as the two cooked dishes, even though of course other simple dishes would be fine as well. And he specifies orez (which ...


6

Logically, you've got to consider the reasons things are considered kitniyos: the item is used to make some kind of flour, the item is grown among chometz species, the item was historically confused with chometz in storage or preparation -- and sometimes, there's just a longstanding minhag that the item is kitniyos. Sesame is considered kitniyos by every ...


6

Dose of Halacha goes through the various opinions of toiletries that contain alcohol over Pesach. He explains why it isn't a problem. R’ Ovadia Yosef (Yalkut Yosef 447:2) permits using products that contain denatured alcohol on Pesach. R’ Chaim Elazar Shapira (Minchas Elazar 5:37) writes that while people are particular, once alcohol has been denatured, ...


5

Not eating Kitniot (legumes,lentils and rice) is a minhag (Iggeros Moshe O.C. III:63 confirms this approach as a reason why we don't add extra kitnios like potatoes, sunflower seeds etc.) and only forbiddon to eat on pesach for ashkenazim but is permitted to own.The source of the Minhag: Smak (Rav Yitzchak Mikorbeil 13th century) 222: על הקטניות וכיוצא ...


5

The earliest source, Sefer Mitzvot ha-katan (SMaK) of R. Yitzchak of Corbeil lists, in French, pois (peas), fole (perhaps, fave, fava beans, 'ful' in Hebrew) & ris (rice), which he lists as 'types of kitniyot'. Prior to that, the designation 'kitniyot' applied primarily in the context of the laws of kilayim. Rambam conceptualizes three categories of ...


5

There appears to have been no particular custom against them. When the Star-K came out strongly arguing that quinoa was not kitniyos, I'd heard that there was talk of then certifying other semi-grains about which there was no custom, such as Job's tears (or teff, for that matter). Instead there was strong opposition to quinoa, so the Star-K stopped there. ...


4

If I recall correctly there were some concerns (at least a few years ago) with corn-derived preservatives or packaging materials with regards to some packaged nuts. It may not be "chopping the walnuts makes them kitniyot", but "your average bag of chopped walnuts bought at the store may have been treated with some kitniyot product." But there are a zillion ...


4

CANOLA OIL from the Orthodox Union. Canola oil, which is a form of rapeseed oil, should be considered kitniyot. The Star-K (Baltimore Va'ad Hakashrus also lists Canola Oil in its list of Kitniyos CRC goes into the details as to why rapeseed oil (Canola oil) is considered kitniyos (based on Maharsham I:183 that it was used in Europe). Note that the CRC ...


4

There were briefly those who'd heard of this thing called coffee -- it's a "bean", you grind it -- who wondered if it were kitniyot. This was quickly rejected, I don't recall who it was who'd said "if you ever saw a coffee plant, you'd understand why it's not kitniyos." Very simply -- all kitniyos, like the 5 grains, are annuals. Coffee and chocolate are ...


4

"Google is your friend" The History, Rationale and Practice of Avoiding Kitniyos on Passover has an explicit statement The Alter Rebbe, Rabbi Schneur Zalman of Liadi, specifically forbids oils derived from kitniyos. Thus this would imply that if even the derived oils are forbidden (which some may allow), then kal vachomer, the kitniyos themselves ...


4

There is no definitive answer. See some links permitting and some links forbidding and some links equivocating. It's hard to say either side should be viewed as violating halacha. Speak to your rabbi for a ruling and be sure that the product is certified for Pesach regarding the other ingredients.


3

According to Rabbi Yehuda Shurpin (chabad.org): The Shulchan Aruch HaRav (Orech Chaim 453:3-4) applies the prohibition of kitniyot to any legume-like foods which look similar to dishes made from grain when cooked. Also, certain foods, such as mustard seeds, are prohibited because they grow in pods similar to legumes; and cumin is prohibited because its seeds ...


3

Tofu is made from soybeans which are kitniot, so yes, tofu cheese would be included in the prohibition of kitniot.


3

There is no definitive answer. Some links permitting and some forbidding and some equivocating. It's hard to say either side should be viewed as violating halacha.


3

To support for Shalom's answer that the issue isn't about chopped nuts being kitniyot per se, but rather kitniyot being used during the processing, we see from the OU- "Raw nuts in their shell do not require Passover certification. Shelled nuts that list BHA or BHT (preservatives) in the ingredients require special Passover certification. They are sprayed ...


3

Just because the English word is 'bean' does not mean that it is kitniyos. A good explanation can be found at What is Kitniyot? Here is the initial summary of that article. You can read the details there. Authored by the Orthodox Union. Copyright © 2008 Orthodox Union In addition to the Torah’s restrictions on owning, eating and benefiting from ...


3

The OU doesn't list Job's tears or coix seed on their list of kitnyiot products, but they list millet (and Wiki says Job's tears are also called adlay - or adlay millet - but it appears to be a different species). There is controversy whether beans and grains that became popular recently (e.g., sunflower seeds, string beans, peanuts and quinoa) are included ...


2

I am a Jew of Spanish Morrocan ancestry - my father always told me that Moroccons and actal Spanish Jews never ate kitniyot including rice itself unless they were fresh and green - the reason -Spain was close to Ashkenaz and the gzeira of kitniyot crossed the border and true Sepharadic Jews (Spanish as opposed to Jews of Arab lands) accepted the gzeira, as ...


2

Rabbi Eliezer Melamed "peninei Halakha:Pesach 6. Kitniyot That Never Touched Water and Kitniyot Oils We are not stricter with kitniyot than we are with the five cereal grains, so whatever is acceptable regarding these grains is kosher for kitniyot, too. Thus, kitniyot that have not come into contact with water, or that have come into contact with water but ...


2

I believe I'd seen it printed somewhere on the daf in Shulchan Aruch, but would have to dig some more. (The other problem is that everyone is giving the local Yiddish-ish word for these plants, which can be tricky to translate.) Don't be fooled by the sweets package! It contains corn syrup; the argument is "Rabbi Yitzchak Elchanan Specter allowed all liquid ...


2

Hm. As I understand it, the reason Ashkenazim don't eat matza-made-with-fruit-juice is to respect a minority opinion in Tosfos, that it would create a certain form of chametz. But if someone is ill, we rely on the majority opinion. Kitniyos is purely a custom, and one that was never decreed against those who are ill. Hence my guess is all else being equal, ...


2

Rabbi Moshe Feinstein wrote (Iggrot Moshe, Orech Chaim 3:63) that the custom not to eat kitniyot on Passover was not created by a group of rabbis issuing a formal ban; rather different communities developed the custom of refraining from certain foods on Passover because they could be mistaken for chametz or they were grown or processed in proximity to flour....


2

This was the subject of this morning's daily halacha at shul, given by the town's rabbi. He said that since we have no chazakah of "new" kitniyot (such as flax seed) being assur, it is permissible to use them, unless someone's family minhag is not to. He quoted Rav Dov Lior's ruling that only those items that were on the original list are banned, unless ...


2

No. The "and so on ..." refers to two prevailing Ashkenazic customs at the time. A.) Kitniot. B.) Dried fruit. (One of the Kitzur's sources is the Chayei Adam, who has a section called: "the customs -- kitniot, and dried fruit.") Thus: A.) Kitniot is prohibited by Ashkenazic custom [out of concern for cross-contamination.] B.) Dried fruit is also ...


1

The Italkim eat kitniyot. The discussed kitniyot ban originated from the communities around the Rhine valley. For the Passover week rice takes the place of pasta in the Roman community (I lived there for years and know well the local customs). The Italian rabbis would fully agree with the chahchamim Yerucham ben Meshullam, Shmuel me'Plaize and Ba'al ha'Turim ...


1

Rabbi Dovid Rabiat is brought in the footnote (#11,12) of your Pathways article as a source for explaining the idea of avoiding the smearing or spreading of foods for simply aesthetic purposes, on Shabbos. Rabbi Dovid Rabiat on page 921 and 925, points out that in order to ever violate the law of "Memarayach" (smoothing) on Shabbos, one would need to apply ...


1

Yes. The real question is do you say "ha'adamah or "she'hakol" on them. The issue is that it is still by definition a bean. Per the OU: The Mishnah Berurah (453:6 & 464:5) cites three reasons for the minhag (a) kitnios is harvested and processed in the same manner as chametz, (b) it is ground into flour and baked just like chametz [so people may ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible