Skip to main content
15 votes
Accepted

Is shechita done by Jews with prosthetic arms valid

Shulchan Aruch, Yoreh Deah 7.1 rules that if someone attaches a knife to a heavy wheel, gives the wheel a big spin (whether using their hand or foot to do so!), and then puts the animal's neck in its ...
Shalom's user avatar
  • 133k
12 votes
Accepted

Is there any halachic basis for "dairy out"?

Unfortunately very little. There are many issues involved in eating out in non-kosher restaurants. To name some of them eating hot "kosher" food in plates that might have been used in the ...
mbloch's user avatar
  • 52.7k
10 votes

Is Goat milk chalavi?

Yes, absolutely. If you think about it, the Torah verse about all of this talks about cooking a g'di in its mother's milk. Now while the Talmud reads that as referring to any young animal, most often ...
Shalom's user avatar
  • 133k
8 votes
Accepted

Is it kosher to put butter in your lentils?

Those ingredients are totally kosher. People cook dairy with vegetables all the time. Check out this menu from a vegetarian Indian restaurant in Cincinnati, certified kosher by the rabbis there. ...
Shalom's user avatar
  • 133k
6 votes
Accepted

Why aren't penguins kosher as sea-dwelling creatures?

The Mishnah (Keilim 17:13) says that the creature called “dog of the sea” - which lives mainly in the sea, but will emerge onto land when escaping predators - is not considered a sea creature. so it ...
שלום's user avatar
  • 3,272
6 votes
Accepted

Dog licks - kashrut status of dog saliva?

We find that dough (or bread) into which a dog bit remains tahor, unless there are grounds for assuming that the dog had touched the food with tamei liquids in its mouth. Its saliva getting on the ...
Meir's user avatar
  • 9,753
6 votes
Accepted

Chicken with two tracheas

EDIT: After discussing this with a shochet, he pointed out that this case is explicit in Shulchan Aruch YD 33:5 וְכָל שֶׁכֵּן אִם יֵשׁ לוֹ שֵׁנִי וְשָׁטִים אוֹ שְׁנֵי קָנִים, דִּטְרֵפָה (תְּשׁוּבַת ...
moses's user avatar
  • 3,657
6 votes

Are Jews allowed to wear clothing made from dyes from nonkosher animals or bugs?

The prohibition against eating bugs does not include deriving benefit from them. Similarly, leather from non-kosher animals can be used for clothing. The Rambam (משנה תורה, הלכות מאכלות אסורות ח׳) ...
Danny Schoemann's user avatar
5 votes

Can kashrus be judged by ingredients lists?

Basically, it depends on the product. Meat has to be slaughtered and prepared by observant Jews. Grape juice or wine can only be touched by observant Jews before pasteurization. Certain cooked foods ...
N.T.'s user avatar
  • 8,808
5 votes
Accepted

Bishul akum on a dish whose ingredients are all eaten raw

Indeed when the majority of ingredients in a dish can be eaten raw, the food is exempt from bishul akum OU Kosher gives the details here Shulchan Aruch (Y.D. 113:2) says that if a non-Jew cooked a ...
mbloch's user avatar
  • 52.7k
5 votes
Accepted

Is honeydew (secretion) kosher

OU Kosher brings the following answer to your question Both Rabbi Belsky, zt”l and Rabbi Schachter, ybc”l maintained that honeydew honey is not kosher. This is the case according to both opinions ...
mbloch's user avatar
  • 52.7k
5 votes
Accepted

Where is a responsum regarding misguided Jews prioritizing kisui rosh over observance of kashrus?

Teshuvos Maharshal 72 ועכשיו אני אגלה את קלון האשכנזים בודאי מי ששותה יין נסך במלון של גוים ואוכל דגים מבושלים בכלי שלהם והמחטי' הוא שמאמין לפונדיקי' שלא בשלו בה אין חוששין עליו ואין בודקין אחוריו ...
Nahum's user avatar
  • 2,473
5 votes
Accepted

May Jews do business in non kosher animal food

R’ Moshe in Igros Moshe YD 2:37 says it is permitted. Obviously, we are not discussing a case of issurei hannah, just the issur sechora.
Chatzkel's user avatar
  • 13k
5 votes
Accepted

Does lemon or lime juice need a Hechsher

Per crc Chicago Yes. It needs Kosher certification. For this reason, all pasteurized juices require reliable kosher certification, even if they do not contain any kosher-sensitive ingredients.
Gershon Gold's user avatar
5 votes
Accepted

Do frozen fries need a hechsher

As the comment said – they come prefried and could absolutely have used non-kosher oil. Goodness yes, they need a hechsher. The OU and the like have their lists of items not requiring a hechsher. Even ...
Shalom's user avatar
  • 133k
5 votes
Accepted

Is Pat Akum applicable nowadays

Pas Akum is always forbidden. What is permissible according to many is Pas Palter, baked goods made by non Jewish Professional Baker for Commercial purposes.
DavefromBaltimore's user avatar
4 votes

Shechita Halacha neck

This is a discussion in the Gemara (Chullin 18a-19b), debated by tannaim and amoraim. The halacha is also debated by the rishonim. Most rishonim rule that if the majority was shechted properly, the ...
wfb's user avatar
  • 14.5k
4 votes
Accepted

Where can I buy kosher ground beef in London?

There's a huge difference between USA/Israel vs. UK. In the USA, the OU are on top of their game. Most stores in the USA, even 1000 miles away from a Jewish hub, have plenty of OU goods on their ...
Rabbi Kaii's user avatar
  • 10.5k
4 votes
Accepted

Swallowed medicine hechser

First of all, Consult Your Own Local Rabbi (CYOLR). Star-K writes with regards to taking non-kosher tablets: In tablets, the most common possibly non-kosher ingredients are magnesium stearate, ...
Shmuel's user avatar
  • 10.4k
4 votes

Where does it say in Halacha that you can double wrap with aluminum and put in traif oven

I found an article by Star-K and one by OU Ⓤ that talk about this issue. Star-K states "If one wants to cook in a treif oven, the kosher food should be double wrapped. That is why kosher airline ...
BID's user avatar
  • 749
4 votes

How is Sugar kosher?

The Star-K goes through the manufacturing process and concludes there really aren't any serious concerns. The main steps and ingredients are quite simple. https://www.star-k.org/articles/kashrus-...
Shalom's user avatar
  • 133k
4 votes
Accepted

Does peanut butter need a Hechsher

There are actually two questions here, though they are related: A.) Do we recommend today that people buy peanut butter without a kosher certification? Really not a good idea. Today's peanut butters ...
Shalom's user avatar
  • 133k
4 votes
Accepted

Is vaping on Pesach allowed?

dinonline and R Daniel Stein both forbid it without kosher supervision R Daniel Stein Additionally, the Magen Avraham (467:10) prohibits cigarettes containing beer-soaked tobacco on Pesach, even ...
mbloch's user avatar
  • 52.7k
3 votes

What is the source and context of the requirement for “smooth” lungs free of adhesions for meat to be “glatt” kosher?

Halacha prescribes one cannot eat the meat of a tereifa (based on the Torah verse in Shemot 22:30), an animal who will die in the next 12 months. There is a dispute however as to what this means when ...
mbloch's user avatar
  • 52.7k
3 votes
Accepted

Soda from non-kosher restaurant

The main problem of eating/drinking kosher food in non-kosher food is marit ayin, the appearance of doing something wrong, which would either reflect badly on the person or suggest to others the ...
mbloch's user avatar
  • 52.7k
3 votes
Accepted

Rubber be kashered

R’ Moshe in Igros Moshe OC 2:92 says that rubber made from trees is able to be kashered but synthetic rubber (silicone, etc) can’t, as it is something new that isn’t found in earlier sources
Chatzkel's user avatar
  • 13k
3 votes

Tri Maschu תרי משהו - Shach and Taz

In the gemara chullin (108A), Rav says that if a משהו - a minimal piece of something forbidden to eat, falls into a pot with numerous whole pieces of food (חתיכות) that are the same type of food (מיו ...
Ben's user avatar
  • 199
3 votes

Seeking picture of original OU logo in Hebrew

This is the best resolution I was able to find for the seal of דער יוניאן אוו ארטאדאקס דזשואיש קאנגרעגיעשנס אוו אמעריקא (the Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations of America) on that product: It is ...
Deuteronomy's user avatar
  • 8,485
3 votes

Is there a list of kosher duck species?

According to the Chasam Sofer (shu"t YD 74) wild geese (ducks?) are not kosher, citing Tzemach Tzedek (Siman 29). The Star-K seems to rule in accordance with this position and will not certify ...
Naftali Tzvi's user avatar
  • 1,748
3 votes
Accepted

Does beer need to be Yashan

It would be prohibited. The Shach Y”D 293:6 says ע"כ ובס' לח"מ סוף מסכת תרומות האריך למצוא היתר על שכר שעורים הנעשה מחדש מטעם שהמשקה היוצא מהן מותר וצריך להתיישב בדבר כי מתשובת הרא"ש ...
Schmerel's user avatar
  • 5,450

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible