Questions tagged [kashrut-kosher]

Kashrut (also kashruth or kashrus, כשרות or כַּשְׁרוּת) is the set of Jewish dietary laws.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
0answers
34 views

Kuntris in English on Gelatin

A few years ago I saw someone who wrote a kuntris (Torah journal) on gelatin in english. It discussed all the halachic issues with it. I think it was put out a while ago but I don't remember who put ...
-4
votes
2answers
77 views

Why was camel milk not unclean?

If the camel is unclean why was its milk drank? https://biblehub.com/interlinear/genesis/32-15.htm
3
votes
1answer
84 views

Halachic dispute over 'Geshtuppte Ganz' (Goose Liver) - Stuffed-goose dish

I was reading the Artscroll biography of the Tosher Rebbe and it writes on p.283 the following: He recalled how his grandfather the Saba Kadisha, had warned him against eating geshtuppte ganz, the ...
3
votes
2answers
732 views

Genesis Chapter 9 : 3 Meaning

Genesis 9 : 3 Every creeping thing which is alive shall be food for you. I have given you all things, even as the green plant. I am a Torah keeper but this verse seems to be contradicting. Can ...
1
vote
2answers
58 views

Leviticus 11:26 Divided Hoof vs Cloven Footed

Leviticus 11:26 even every living thing which divides the hoof, and is not cloven footed, and does not bring up the cud, they are unclean to you; anyone who touches them shall be unclean. What's the ...
2
votes
3answers
254 views

Ancient Jews eating only fish with fins and scales?

“The Pentateuchal Dietary Proscription against Finless and Scaleless Aquatic Species in Light of Ancient Fish Remains” published in the peer-reviewed Tel Aviv archaeological journal on May 24, 2021, ...
3
votes
0answers
45 views

Does the mitzvah to eat shmita produce apply to heter mechira?

i saw an article a few years back, I believe written based on a shiur by Rabbi Shlomo Aviner, promoting heter mechira. Towards the end of the article, he was advocating why heter mechira was ...
0
votes
2answers
83 views

Listing kosher creatures

The Torah [Lev. 11] says that fish must have fins and scales to be kosher -- no need for more specifics. For birds, it has no general rule but specific listed birds are not kosher. Winged things ...
4
votes
0answers
97 views

Why are we allowed to eat flour?

The Torah explicitly says that we may not eat blood because the blood is an essential element in effecting Kaparah (as explained in Vayikra 17:11 among other places): כִּי נֶפֶשׁ הַבָּשָׂר בַּדָּם ...
1
vote
1answer
64 views

Is contamination from lack of kashrut reversible? [duplicate]

We are taught the kashrut mitzvot are meant to elevate our holiness and avoid spiritual contamination. What of an uneducated Jew that for most of his/her life did not keep kosher and eventually became ...
2
votes
0answers
32 views

Items not labeled Kosher for Passover [duplicate]

What halachic concern(s) are there with items which are 100% non chametz and do not contain chametz (e.g. olive oil - or for that matter avocado, cottonseed and whatever other types of oils, pure ...
2
votes
1answer
97 views

How much beer/whisky would one have to consume to be chayav m’doaraisa?

How much beer/whisky would one have to consume to be chayav m’doaraisa? Also why biblically is there a prohibition on liquid chometz if it’s in the form of a liquid and not leavened bread? We know by ...
5
votes
0answers
93 views

Can you eat foods during Passover, if you already opened and ate from the package before Passover?

Let's say that a person opens a jar of pickles that is kosher for Passover, and eats from it during the week before Passover starts. Can the jar still be used during Passover?
1
vote
2answers
138 views

Why are some Matzah labeled as not being kosher for Pesach/Passover?

What brought me to inquire about this topic (besides seeing products as being labeled not kosher for Pesach) was the name Matzah itself. Matzah by definition means unleavened bread. I understand that ...
2
votes
1answer
59 views

Does food absorb a chametz ta'am if there is no heat (or equivalent) involved?

This is a case where I am fairly certain that I know the practical halacha, but don't understand the issues underlying the practice. Let's say you chop up some apples and nuts before Pesach on a ...
2
votes
0answers
51 views

Aged tequila on Pessach

I've noticed that the lists of aged (reposado and añejo) tequila approved for Pessach went from a fairly sizeable number in 5780 down to two in 5781. Someone I know, who is an executive in a ...
1
vote
2answers
142 views

Can a Kohen be a vegetarian or vegan?

It's my understanding that eating meat for a Jew is optional. We are not commanded to eat meat but if we have the desire we may do so as long as it follows kashrut restrictions. On the other hand, are ...
2
votes
1answer
85 views

Why are trace amounts of chametz in milk or eggs bittul before Pesach, but not in spices or quinoa?

(Note: It's entirely possible that one or more of the premises of this question is incorrect; if that's the case, I would very much appreciate any clarification of what the actual underlying halacha ...
2
votes
1answer
176 views

Kashrut Status of Certain Oral Tobacco Products During Pesach

NOTE: I plan to pose this question to a qualified Rav. But first I am trying to think through the relevant issues to get a sense of how one might pasken this. My question is regarding whether snus ...
-1
votes
1answer
96 views

Is there any thing in judaism that says cook your food well at high temprature

Is there any thing in judaism that says cook your food well at high temprature
1
vote
1answer
99 views

What are the permitted equivalents of what the Torah prohibits?

The Talmud says that for every thing God has forbidden, He has created an equivalent that is permitted. [Chullin 109b] It then gives a short list of such equivalents, such as marrying your neighbor's ...
1
vote
1answer
107 views

Ki'bolo Kach Polto

Why can't a utensil that became trief at, say 150 degrees be kashered with water that is 151 degrees? Why must the water be boiling?
5
votes
1answer
111 views

Mushrooms from the carcass of a non-kosher animal

Some Mushrooms can grow from decomposing animals. Would there be any (kashrus) problems with having mushrooms that grow from the carcasses of non-kosher animals?
2
votes
2answers
483 views

Halachic status of Beefalo

I just learned of the existence of the beefalo: I was wondering: a. Is it considered Kil'ayim (a forbidden hybrid)? b. Is it kosher, that is, can it be slaughtered and eaten (I think this would ...
7
votes
4answers
229 views

Tikkun for Timtum HaLev

Is there teshuva/tikkun for timtum halev (specifically for forbidden foods)? Please cite sources.
2
votes
1answer
105 views

Is fur fleishig?

Is fur fleishig? My thinking is, not edible -> not food -> not fleishig. But I dunno. (This question is pure silliness and not practical.)
1
vote
0answers
52 views

Can water that never touches food have a (non)kosher status?

I recently read the OK "Kosher Spirit" magazine, including an article about canned vegetables and kashrut concerns. The article reviews the steps in the production of canned vegetables and ...
5
votes
2answers
176 views

Why must animals be conscious when slaughtered?

EU court rules states can mandate stunning animals for slaughter reports: Animal rights activists had pushed for the ban which could prevent kosher and halal ritual slaughter which requires livestock ...
2
votes
1answer
112 views

Are frozen organic blueberries kosher?

Do frozen organic blueberries require certification / checking for insects? Apparently, according to the CRC and Star-K, frozen blueberries should not need kosher certification. Is this also the ...
0
votes
1answer
93 views

Eating non-kosher food without swallowing?

We find several places in which you would be liable for eating non-kosher food. Let’s say someone placed the non-kosher food in their mouth, began to chew, but did not swallow. Would they be liable ...
0
votes
0answers
56 views

Are Ricola drops pareve?

Are Ricola drops certified by Rabbi A. Yafe Schlesinger considered pareve?
4
votes
0answers
83 views

Why hasn't the coronavirus pandemic had a greater impact on kashrut supervision? [closed]

When the pandemic first began I expected dramatic repercussions to kashrut certification. Being a novice in this area I had understood that certifying organizations would need to be physically present ...
-1
votes
1answer
88 views

Today's reason of wine prohibition

I can understand that in the old days non-Jewish people used to make wine for worshipping or that wine was the main alcoholic beverage and drinking a wine made by non-jews would require some ...
5
votes
2answers
198 views

Shellac Kosher, but Carmine for example isn’t how come?

Could someone explain to me on which basis/principle products like shellac are allowed to use (according to kashrut)? While products like Cochineal, Carmine, Carminic acid (E120) aren’t, because the ...
1
vote
1answer
60 views

Is a utensil used for chillul Shabbos considered non-kosher?

If a Jew cooks on Shabbos, the Shulchan Aruch OC (318:1) says המבשל בשבת [או שעשה א' משאר מלאכות] [טור] במזיד אסור לו לעולם ולאחרים מותר למ"ש מיד - One who cooks food on Shabbos [or performs any ...
0
votes
0answers
28 views

Is there any kosher considerations in regards to offal / tripe? [duplicate]

If you ignore our often modern sensibilities in regards to meat eating, for argument sake. Is there any kosher consideration in regards to the less desirable parts of animals. Is questions in regards ...
0
votes
0answers
106 views

Can a practicing Jew use soap made from lard?

Is it forbidden under the Jewish religion to use soap made from pig fat or is the prohibition on pork product solely in regards to the consumption of the meat?
0
votes
0answers
81 views

Kashrus in nasal vaccinations [duplicate]

In the UK, the influenza vaccination contains pork. The nasal flu vaccine does contain hydrolysed gelatine derived from pork as one of its additives. Gelatine is commonly used in a range of ...
2
votes
0answers
59 views

Why does my liquid toothpaste's Kosher for Pesach sign have an expiration date?‎

I have an Israeli brand of liquid tooth paste from a company called Tayadent,‎ which says on it כשר לפסח תש"פ -‎ why would it matter what year it is for the hecsher?‎ Thanks
-1
votes
1answer
72 views

When it comes to the handling of (non-Mevushal) Kosher wine, what defines "handling" by a non-observant Jew in the prohibition? [closed]

We are warned that when handling a non-Mevushal Kosher wine that it must only be handled by shabbat observant Jews. My question relates to the halachic definition of "handling" and what that ...
1
vote
0answers
78 views

Should one kasher keilim used with Hebrew National? [closed]

Do Keilim need to be Kashered after being used for Hebrew National hotdogs?
8
votes
1answer
321 views

Are Jews allowed to deliver for food delivery apps?

Since it's forbidden to derive benefit from milk and meat, does that mean it's also forbidden to make a living as a doordash driver who has to deliver things like mcdonalds?
0
votes
0answers
30 views

Can Salt used to kasher meat have additives [such as anti-caking agents]?

Can Salt being used to kasher meat have additives [such as anti-caking agents]? I see that some "kosher salt" companies have this added (e.g. Morton), can they still be used to Kasher meat ...
1
vote
0answers
36 views

Protein Powder certified kosher but no hescher on package [closed]

A family member bought protein powder which I believed was under OU supervision. It is 100% vegan and has no dairy derivatives which I know means nothing in the kosher world but still. It is missing a ...
3
votes
2answers
176 views

Does one need to kasher a pot that is kosher in all aspects except that kosher meat that is not glatt was cooked in it?

If one does eat strictly glatt kosher and cooks non-glatt kosher meat in a pot. Later on, a different dish with glatt kosher meat is made. Would someone that adheres to glatt kosher standards require ...
1
vote
1answer
177 views

Is the Panasonic Arc5 Shaver Kosher? [closed]

I would like to ask if these two shavers are kosher amazon.com/dp/B00JWP8F3I amazon.com/dp/B07XD5T8MN
1
vote
1answer
255 views

Kosher considerations of non-Kosher chips

Following on from the recent baguette question (what if the bread kneaders hands were dirty?) French fries cooked in a wire basket in a vat of vegetable oil used only for that purpose. In a diner with ...
0
votes
1answer
69 views

Do these tissues have 4 or 5 rabbinical certifications?

In the image below: Rabbinical ishur (certification) of the suitability of the facial tissues. Certification that they are not made from recycled seforim (which probably means that the paper is non-...
14
votes
1answer
3k views

Are all French baguettes intrinsically kosher?

According to French law, all baguettes must be made of only wheat flour, water, salt and yeast (source). So, do Jews who keep kosher (and eat pas palter) in France eat baguettes from plain ...
0
votes
1answer
77 views

What is the Talmudic source for the idea that any halachic question has numerous answers?

I remember hearing a story about a rav who was going for smicha and was challenged first to explain 100 reasons for why a chicken was kosher and then afterwards challenged to provide 100 reasons why ...

1
2 3 4 5
21