I know that a shvuat heses is drabanan. I think modeh b'miktzas is one, and that shvuat hashomrim is another, but what is the third? (and are the 2 I mentioned correct)


  • 2
    Welcome to MiYodeya alicht and thanks for this first question. Since MY is different from other sites you might be used to, see here for a guide which might help understand the site. Note amongst others the focus on English as the main site language - ideally a non Hebrew speaker would understand what we are speaking about (although I agree it is harder to apply to this question, but please bear in mind for the future). Great to have you learn with us!
    – mbloch
    Dec 27, 2018 at 3:30

1 Answer 1


The three categories of biblically prescribed oaths are 1) an oath of a bailee ("Shevuat haShomerim"), 2) an oath to defend a partial monetary rejection ("Modeh beMiktzat"), and 3) an oath to counter a solitary witness ("Eid Echad").

See Rambam, Laws of Shevuot 11:5

  • Shvuat Haedut? shvuat sota?
    – kouty
    Dec 30, 2018 at 7:32
  • @kouty Shevuat haedut is a voluntary oath. If you lie about one there are consequences.
    – Double AA
    Dec 31, 2018 at 2:00
  • OK I understand
    – kouty
    Dec 31, 2018 at 3:08

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .