1

Is a blessing made on non-kosher food that one is normally forbidden (אסור) to eat when one is in an exceptional circumstance? (like for example, starving and without other food) The food becomes permissible (מותר) through the unusual circumstance, but is still non-kosher.

To clarify my terminology, according to the kabbalistic understanding of food, Kosher Food comes from what is called Klipat Nogah according to kabbalistic teaching. Klipat Nogah is a mixture of Tov and Ra.

Non-Kosher Food comes from the three, completely unfit Klipot which, as is taught in the Tanya and elsewhere, contain no Tov whatsoever.

Normally, a blessing over food with Shem and Malchut is said over something that is permissible (not Assur) and that also has Tov to elevate (what is called the Spark of Holiness). This is the meaning of the verse, "Ishei rei'ach nicho'ach l'HaShem".

In this case, the food is permitted, but it still originates from the three completely unfit Klipot.

Is it the regular blessing for that general type/category of food (meat, bread, wine, fruit, etc) or something else?

The usual blessing on permitted food includes Shem & Malchut, which means that what you recite over has specific requirements from Chazal.

marked as duplicate by Double AA halacha Dec 13 '18 at 15:20

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.