Hematogen is non-kosher ("blood"), right?
Hematogen is done (indirectly) from blood of an animal. Does it imply that it is non-kosher?
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It only takes a minute to sign up.Sign up to join this community
Hematogen (Russian: Гематоген, Gematogen; Latin: Haematogenum) is a nutrition bar, which is notable in that one of its main ingredients is black food albumin taken from processed (defibrinated) cow's blood. Other ingredients may vary, but usually they're sugar, milk, vanillin.
Defibrinated blood is whole blood from which the clotting protein (fibrin) has been removed.
If this was all that had been done, it would mean that it is definitely not kosher. As we see in Leviticus Tzav 7:26
26 And you shall not eat any blood in any of your dwelling places, whether from birds or from animals.
Even if the blood had been processed to make it a neutral chemical or the product did not have blood in it, then it would have to be treated as not kosher unless it was certified by a reputable kashrus agency.