1

This question already has an answer here:

News recently reported about a company in California that produces "Milk free Milk".

image

The process -- which is all in a lab -- involves yeast and genetically modify them by adding DNA from a cow to produce the exact same liquid as cow milk (without lactose for those suffering lactose intolerance and other benefits).

This being said, will this be dairy? If yes, for those who don't drink Chalav Stam, would this be non-Kosher?

marked as duplicate by Shokhet, Community Jun 22 '17 at 17:43

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • Is there a Jew there watching? – Double AA Jun 22 '17 at 16:59
  • I assume not. The question is of-course in context where normal milk would disqualify. – Mordechai Jun 22 '17 at 17:01
  • possible duplicate judaism.stackexchange.com/q/51119/759 – Double AA Jun 22 '17 at 17:08
  • @DoubleAA Yeah, I believe it's a dupe. but that post refers to a different company I believe, since it is 2 years old. – Mordechai Jun 22 '17 at 17:11
  • The answer would still apply in general no matter what company as the answer is that it would require investigation and hashgacha just like soy milk or any other mock cheese product. – sabbahillel Jun 22 '17 at 18:13

Browse other questions tagged .