0

This question already has an answer here:

Suppose for this scenario that the restaurant is very strictly vegan (and in a region where veganism is truly understood), and there is no wine present. All dishes that the restaurant uses are strictly vegan.

I can think of a few problems, but I am hoping that someone will be able to spell out these problems in detail with sources.

An initial list of problems:

1) Keilim were bought used and were used in a treyf restaurant

2) Bishul akum

3) Indirectly benefitting from a Yehudi's melacha on Shabbes There could be a Yehudi worker who works there on Shabbes (for a kosher diner eating there during the vokh, would this be considered a violation of the issur against gaining hano'ah from a Yehudi worker's melacha on Shabbes?) or a ba'al yehudi of the restaurant who keeps the restaurant open on Shabbes (same question: would eating there during the vokh be considered a violation of the issur against benefitting from a Yehudi's melacha on Shabbes, albeit indirectly)?

Can anyone elaborate on the potential issues above-- if they are indeed issues or if they are not (and why or why not, with textual support)-- and do the same for any additional potential problems that I did not list?

Thank you for your help!

marked as duplicate by DanF, Avrohom Yitzchok, Yishai, Gershon Gold halacha Jun 14 '17 at 21:10

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • Since one requires a trustworthy Jew to certify kashrus, one cannot trust the owners to say that it is strictly Vegan. Additionally, grape juice can be used in the recipes or in the juices served even if there is no wine. – sabbahillel Jun 14 '17 at 19:13
2

Not sure if this is a subset of (2), but yayin neshech would be a potential problem. Grape juice is used in a lot of foods, causing kashrut problems.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .