Per my CRC Kosher app, "molasses" is kosher without a hashgachah needed. What about grape molasses though?
Per https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Petimezi, grape must is used to make it, so I'd assume it would need a hashgachah, no?
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It only takes a minute to sign up.Sign up to join this community
Email from the CRC:
Rabbi Fishbane showed me your question about grape molasses and asked me to respond.
You are correct that molasses made from grape would require certification. I don’t think this is a very common item, and that’s why we didn’t note that it is an exception, but I will instruct our people to add that detail to the entry for “molasses”.
Thank you for pointing this out to us
Rabbi Dovid Cohen
Chicago Rabbinical Council