I'm confused by what I'm reading here:
Fresh fruits and vegetables grown in chutz la’aretz are kosher whether bought whole or cut. Therefore, you may purchase a fresh fruit salad in any restaurant (if there is no dressing on it). If the restaurant serves kosher and non-kosher items, you may enter it to eat. If none of the food served is kosher, you may only be seated if there are no Jews around to see or if you are not recognizable as Jewish. Although you couldn’t eat there, you might want to enter for a meeting with someone and just drink water.
You may drink cold drinks such as soda and beer in the glasses provided in a non-kosher restaurant. If the drink is normally served with a slice of lemon, ask them to hold the lemon. Since the lemon was cut with a treif knife, the lemon is treif and should not be put into tea or a cold beverage. If it was wedged on the glass, you should remove the lemon and may drink the beverage. Any lemon that remains in the drink is negligible and does not pose a problem. If the lemon was squeezed into the drink, order another drink without the lemon and offer the first drink to a gentile you know or have it returned to the kitchen.
Why does this document apparently state that one doesn't have to be worried about cut fruit, but one does if it's a lemon? Is it because lemons are charif? If so, why wouldn't #1 mention charif fruits/vegetables as an exception?
CYLOR about whether to rely on the information in this document, like any.