4

The Pri Chadash 115:6 writes that one can drink milk that was not watched by a Yisroel in an instance where there are no non-kosher animals, or if the non-kosher milk would be more expensive.

He writes towards the end that this is the minhag of Amsterdam.

Text:

הכלל העולה דבעיר שלא נמצא שם חלב טמא או שהיא יותר ביוקר מחלב טהור מותר לקנות מהעכו"ם חלב שחלבו בלא ראיית ישראל כלל וכן מצאתי המנהג פשוט פה אמסטרדם וכן נהגתי אני...‏

Is this recorded minhag of Amsterdam, is it still a minhag there or have the circumstances changed there?

  • I was under the impression that most of the Western European Jewish communities became secular in the 1800s, and were then flooded by eastern European Jews, then were killed in the Holocaust, and then were again flooded with eastern European and north African Jews. – Shmuel Brin May 24 '17 at 6:18
  • 1
    I believe in the Sdei Chemed, he quotes this Pri Chadash, and also mentions that this was not only the Minhag of Amsterdam, but also of Jews inArabic countries (as Muslims find pigs reprehensible) – Shoel U'Meishiv May 24 '17 at 6:19
  • vosizneias.com/99090/2012/01/18/… FWIW – Shmuel Brin May 24 '17 at 6:21
  • 1
    @ShoelU'Meishiv I thought the issue was Camel milk, not pig milk (which is green anyways). – Shmuel Brin May 24 '17 at 6:22
  • @ShmuelBrin I don't have it with me, but from what I remember the issue was pig milk, thus he states explicitly that in Arab countries it would be muttar – Shoel U'Meishiv May 24 '17 at 6:35
1

Rav Yochanan of Holleschau claims (recorded here, p. 30) that this was not the Minhag in Amsterdam, even at the time of the Peri Chadash.

See also here (p. 32) where Rav Yitzchak Yosef quotes Sedei Chemed saying that the Minhag in Amsterdam is to prohibit unsupervised milk.

See this website about milk products in Amsterdam now.

It starts with a statement:

If there is no milk under rabbinical supervision available, then you are forced to buy products without supervision.
All products in this section that contain E-120, cochineal, or carmine dye (carmine, karmic acid) are not allowed.

It then has a long list of products that are allowed and those that are non-kosher.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .