Generally speaking there seems to be a list of "Yeshivish Masechtos" (masechtos usually studied in Yeshivot) and specific Perakim which are learnt in Chareidi mainstream Yeshivot. For instance, in the Mir and BMG which פרקים do they do?

  • 1
    Define "Yeshivish." ....I've voted to close this question as "primarily opinion based," because it is. There is no one list of "Yeshivish Masechtos" (you'd be surprised at which masechtos some "yeshivish" places study). You may be better off asking what masechtos a particular yeshiva studies. – MTL Apr 26 '17 at 0:57
  • 2

Yeshivish mesechtos are typically the masechtos learned in high school because they are the ones that are more involving (lots of lomdus) and can train a person how to properly learn gemara.
Very often yeshivos have a machzor, cycle of 8 masechtos;

יבמות (1,2)כתובות (1,3)נדרים (1,2,10)גיטין (1,4,6,8)קידושין (1,2,3)בבא קמא (1,2,3,9)בבא מציעא (1,2,3,9)בבא בתרא (1,2,3,,8). Obviously every yeshiva has its own way of doing things, but these are fairly common.

  • Sanhedrin not one of them? – El Shteiger Apr 26 '17 at 2:19
  • 1
    sanhedrin, pesachim, makot, shevuot, suca – kouty Apr 26 '17 at 3:17
  • Anyone have a more extensive list including the others mentioned by Kouty? – El Shteiger Apr 27 '17 at 13:38
  • It looks like 6 and 8 were intended to go with B"K, not Kiddushin. – user17093 May 4 '20 at 0:57

In Lubavitch, the cycle is Kiddushin, Bava Metzia, Shabbos, Gittin, Bava Basra, Kesuvos, Bava Kamma, Pesachim, Kesuvos (in that order).

All focusing on the first chapter, except Kesuvos focusing on the second.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .