What could make a kosher wine not kosher for Passover?

The o-u site has a page saying, "Kosher for Passover ONLY when bearing special certification" (https://oukosher.org/product-search/ do a search on wine and check the passover box to see this page).

What about the production of wine could make it hametz?

  • 1
    Adding wheat would seem to do the trick
    – Double AA
    Apr 9, 2017 at 19:43
  • 1
    @DoubleAA I do not know much about wine making. Is wheat likely to be (or ever) added during wine production?
    – Yehuda W
    Apr 9, 2017 at 19:52
  • Yehuda, have you ever seen a hechshered wine without a Pessach hech'? Apr 9, 2017 at 20:09
  • kosher an hechsher is not yhe same. wine is bottled before pesach, if there was a little quantity of chamets, it's bsyel before pesach, there is no taste of chamets in the wine
    – kouty
    Apr 9, 2017 at 20:22
  • @YehudaW I don't know if it's likely, but it's certainly possible which answers your question.
    – Double AA
    Apr 10, 2017 at 12:37

1 Answer 1


Real wine is fermented grapes and nothing else. Wine needs a hecksher as it has to be supervised by an observant jew. All kosher wines I have seen have been labeled K-P, but the P isn't necessary. Manischewitz is the exception. It is made in Canandaigua NY from grapes which due to the short growing season, do not have enough sugar to properly ferment, so the company adds hi-fructose corn syrup to make it sweeter. For Pesach they add cane sugar instead of HF Corn Syrup and it is labeled as K-p. It's pretty awful in either case. BTW, Manischewitz is no longer owned by Manischewitz, which doesn't exist either. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manischewitz

  • Welcome to Mi Yodeya Rachel! Thanks for the answer!
    – mevaqesh
    Apr 9, 2017 at 23:09
  • 1
    Adding some sources regarding the contents of wine, particularly those that address traces that could be halakhically significant, would improve this post.
    – mevaqesh
    Apr 9, 2017 at 23:11
  • 2
    while it is true the main ingredient of wine is grape juice there are chemicals added as part of the process. those include at minimum yeast and yeast nutrient. Some other ingredients which could be used but not necessarily used are potassium metabisulfite for killing unwanted yeasts and bacteria, acids, malolactic bacteria, fining agent, yeast energizer, potassium sorbate for stabilizing,
    – Laser123
    Apr 10, 2017 at 1:25
  • 1
    I had always called Manischewitz Malaga "pancake syrup". People thought I was crazy. Thanks for confirming for me that I'm not. Corn syrup - I never knew! You may want to edit your answer that the addition of corn syrup per se, makes it kitniyot which would make it prohibited by most Ashkenazim, not Sefardim. However, it is not chametz based on that, alone. OU and many other U.S. kashrut organizations automatically do not certify kitniot ingredients for Passover use.
    – DanF
    Apr 10, 2017 at 14:59

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .