Inspired by http://www.toastale.com/toast-ale-recipe/

my idea is instead of using bread to use matzah as the source of fermentable sugars.

The ingredients for modern beer "usually" are malt, water, yeast, and hops

Now assuming I replaced the malt with a chometz free product such as matzah and the yeast was certified kosher for Passover or used spontaneous inoculation. Would the hops be kosher for Passover without kosher certification?

  • do you think that would work (I mean, is it actually possible to make beer that way)?
    – Daniel
    Mar 27, 2017 at 17:41
  • 2
    That would be gebrokhts.
    – DanF
    Mar 27, 2017 at 18:07
  • 1
    Is this a halchik question or a beer making question?
    – user6591
    Mar 27, 2017 at 18:16
  • Laser123, 1elcome to Mi Yodeya, and thanks for bringing your question here! Mi Yodeya is a community of experts on Judaism, not beer-making, so this question - presumably whether a particular concoction would be kosher for Passover - will be a great deal more answerable if you edit in more details about the process/recipe you have in mind for producing beer from matza. If you want to know whether a particular recipe is likely to work, I recommend trying asking at Beer, Wine & Spirits.
    – Isaac Moses
    Mar 27, 2017 at 18:17
  • I have edited it now to be more specific
    – Laser123
    Mar 27, 2017 at 18:22


You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .