Does anyone know of hechshered plain kefir gluten free no additives Kosher for Passover?

Kefir is a fermented milk product (cow, goat or sheep milk) that tastes like a drinkable yogurt.

Kefir contains high levels of vitamin B12, calcium, magnesium, vitamin K2, biotin, folate, enzymes, and probiotics.

—See The Well, http://shopthewell.co/2015/02/02/benefits-kefir/

  • The community bot really wants to know
    – Rabbi Kaii
    Commented Apr 8 at 15:05

1 Answer 1


Based on my deduction from information I found on this OU page:

Kefir is a yogurt-type beverage made by fermenting milk with kefir grains. These grains consist of yeast and bacteria, in an environment of sugars, proteins and lipids.

Yeast might be considered chametz depending on whether it grew off of barley or wheat or one of the other 3 "chametz" grains. This is common in the industry. (See this M.Y. question for more info. )

I haven't seen any Pesach kefir around. I'm assuming that within the industry, there is no non-chametz form of yeast that's around or that is cheap enough to produce. This could also be that there is not enough of a demand for kefir on Pesach that companies want to make a special Pesach "blend".

  • Where do you see a difference if the yeast was derived from barley and wheat or the other three?
    – user6591
    Commented Sep 2, 2019 at 12:09

You must log in to answer this question.