1. When a Minion davens, does he need to Daven with another Minion?
  2. Can a Minon daven with a Mignon Minion Minyan, or must it be with a large Minion Minyan?

enter image description here

Source of Pic

This question is Purim Torah and is not intended to be taken completely seriously. See the Purim Torah policy.

  • I have a bad feeling if you put together a minyan of minons, the chazan would find some strange, unintentional, untimely end.
    – Shalom
    Feb 23 '18 at 0:56
  • Always invite minions for davening on sukkos, they'll help you with the Ba-NANUIM!!
    – Shalom
    Feb 23 '18 at 0:57
  • 2
    Actually we pasken against the concept of matza min es mino, so I guess they should daven alone.
    – Shalom
    Feb 23 '18 at 1:00

From this article:

A slave may not be counted for a minyan (SA OC 55:4), nor may one who is half-freedman and half-slave (MB 55:3).

Minions are slaves. They may daven with another minyan that has at least 10 qualifiying Jewish men. But, they cannot be counted as part of a minyan, regardless of how many of them are there. It is a given that a minyan of only minions couldn't exist, either.

  • Are Minions in fact slaves? They switch masters very easily, so it seems to me that Minions are bound through long-term indentures. This is still covered by the word aved, for what it's worth. Feb 20 '18 at 20:05
  • 2
    @CodeswithHammer Since OP has asked if minions may be counted for a minyan, I assume that he has confirmed that they are Jewish, otherwise, the question is irrelevant. Thus, minions would be freed after 6 years, anyway. If yovel comes, they would be freed earlier than that.
    – DanF
    Feb 20 '18 at 20:44

The Victorian poet Gerard Manley Hopkins answers this question in his 1877 masterpiece The Windhover, a poem about making it to the hashkama minyan for shacharis:

I CAUGHT this morning morning’s minion, king-
dom of daylight’s dauphin, dapple-dawn-drawn Falcon, in his riding
Of the rolling level underneath him steady air, and striding
High there, how he rung upon the rein of a wimpling wing
In his ecstasy!

This suggests that a minion (here symbolized by a falcon) only needs itself to daven to H'.

This should answer your question. Unless, of course, you are asking about partnership minions. These need to have a second, female minion with them in order to daven.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .