2

Can someone provide me with some details and background about Rabbi David I. Sheinkop? He's involved in kashrus hashgacha and after reading his short sefer on gelatin, he appears to me to be very knowledgeable as well as a person who bases his decisions on traditional Halachic sources. Is he accepted by the main stream of Orthodox Jews as someone who can be relied on?

closed as off-topic by DonielF, Danny Schoemann, sabbahillel, Daniel, Scimonster Jun 14 '17 at 15:50

This question appears to be off-topic. The users who voted to close gave this specific reason:

  • "Questions about the Hebrew language or about history or news of the Jewish people, Jewish individuals, or the State of Israel, except as related to Judaism, are off-topic. If this question does relate to Judaism, please edit it to indicate how." – DonielF, Danny Schoemann, sabbahillel, Scimonster
If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 1
    Highly related: judaism.stackexchange.com/questions/43760/… – ezra Jan 13 '17 at 16:46
  • 1
    What kosher organization is he apart of? – ezra Jan 13 '17 at 17:03
  • 1
    Someone's position on gelatin is orthogonal to if they can be relied upon. Many great rabbis have permitted it, and even though that ruling is unpopular in America, no one would say that affects the stature of those Poskim. – Double AA Jan 13 '17 at 18:20
  • From what I've seen, Rabbi SHeinkopf is the main certifier for Dannon Yogurt products. I see Dannon sold in numerous kosher stores throughout NYC. 3 kosher markets in my area are all under the Va'ad, and, I know the Va'ad to have stringent kashrut standards imposed on all their stores; sometimes stringencies that go beyond "norm". FWIW, they are allowing the stores to sell Dannon Yogurt which is supervised by Rabbi Sheinkopf. Perhaps, this story is an indication of his trustworthiness, maybe not. You can contact OU or Star K, etc. They may give you more info. – DanF Jan 13 '17 at 19:25
  • 1
    @ezra not at all, since the OU would probably be fine with fish gelatin – Double AA Jan 14 '17 at 23:14
0

Regarding Gelatin, this is what he says (YMMV). The hecsherim that he gives would follow his view on this matter. Other hechsherim could differ and your determination to accept him or not should be based on you rav's opinion of this matter.

GELATIN IN JEWISH LAW By Rabbi David I. Sheinkopf

Gelatin produced from cattle bones or hides of even non-ritually slaughtered animals is kosher in full accordance with orthodox Jewish dietary laws. The reason is that only the edible parts of non-kosher animals are forbidden. Bones and hides, however, which are inedible, are excluded by the Talmud and Jewish Law Codes from any category of foodstuffs. Therefore, after undergoing chemical pretreatments which render them absolutely free of any forbidden extraneous materials, bones and hides in themselves are permissible.

Soaked in hydrochloric acid and/or lime for extended periods of time, the raw material is reduced to pure collagen with no traces of adhering flesh, marrow, or grease whatsoever. (Those who contend otherwise are simply unfamiliar with the manufacturing process.) Hence, the gelatin extracted from the collagenous residue of bones and hides is kosher. This is true regardless of whether gelatin is considered a new substance (davar hadash). Also, because it originates from a non-edible substance, gelatin is pareve (neither meat nor dairy.)

  • That argument is essentially the same as Rav Ovadia Yosef's. All the discussion you hear about the new substance Heter is only accd to the Rambam that bones are Asur Derabanan. The Rashba and ShA though don't seem to accept that. – Double AA Jan 15 '17 at 3:16

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .