I have been using K Cups (small "cups" or "pods" made for a Keurig beverage machine) for a while now and I just realized that some of them contain milk powder. Is it okay to drink? Is it kosher at all?

  • 3
    Some are, some aren't. Rules are not applicable to K-Cups in general as different companies make different specific products differently.
    – rosends
    Commented Dec 7, 2016 at 15:13
  • 1
    Supplementing @Danno's comment, you should assume they are not OK unless they have some reliable kosher certification or you ask a rabbi or mashgiach who is familiar with the specific product.
    – DanF
    Commented Dec 7, 2016 at 15:17
  • 2
    Related: judaism.stackexchange.com/questions/38172/…
    – Yishai
    Commented Dec 7, 2016 at 15:21
  • 1
    Welcome to Mi Yodeya S! Thanks for sharing the question.
    – mevaqesh
    Commented Dec 7, 2016 at 17:17
  • The K cups that we have in our home have the OU (no D so they are pareve) on the top of each individual cup of coffee. Other brands have other hecsheirim. For example Bright Tea packets have KLBD (Kosher London Bais Din) and are pareve Commented Dec 8, 2016 at 0:43

1 Answer 1


OU have a page dealing with Keurig Green Mountain products relating to the kashrus of K-cups and other prodcuts. There are dairy products. You can check any individual Keurig product there.

The certificates state that the relevant OU symbol is required.

Related to this, the news item from “Kosher Today” says

According to Rabbi Moshe Elefant, COO of the Orthodox Union (OU) Kashrus Division, certified kosher K-Cups used in the machines no longer have the OU symbol on the individual cups although they remain on the boxes that they come in. Thus, a kosher consumer who randomly finds a K-Cup without a box may inadvertently be using a non-certified K-Cup … etc


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .