If someone works for a firm owned by a Jew who presumably does not sell the chametz, as he is totally secular, may one drink Diet Coke from that fridge?

  • 4
    Is there any reason to assume that the coke contained chametz? It should be noted that kitnoyot which some Jews avoid consuming on Pesach, is not chametz, and may be owned over Pesach.
    – mevaqesh
    Commented May 13, 2016 at 13:57
  • 2
    Yes. assuming that there is no chametz in the coke. Hopefully someone will post a more thorough answer.
    – mevaqesh
    Commented May 13, 2016 at 14:03
  • 1
    Is there something specific about Diet Coke that prompts the question? Regular Coke usually contains kitniyot so I could see the question there, but I thought Diet Coke didn't use corn syrup and instead used artificial sweeteners? Commented May 13, 2016 at 14:35
  • 1
    An additional heter would be that one bought the diet coke before passover and the kitniyos was batel
    – sam
    Commented May 13, 2016 at 14:57
  • 1
    @sam that would be a heter for drinking the coke on pesach, but you don't need it to drink the coke after pesach. there is no prohibition to won kitniyos on pesach, and certainly no prohibition to consume kitniyos after pesach
    – wfb
    Commented May 13, 2016 at 18:00

1 Answer 1


Sidestepping the issue as to whether or not diet soda uses artificial sweeteners or corn syrup, lets go with the assumption that it's corn syrup.

Yes you can drink it, because corn (and its derivatives) isn't actual chametz, so there is no obligation to sell it during Passover. Therefore a can of soda is permissible even if it wasn't sold during Passover.

Source: Halachipedia on Kitniyot

As to whether or not there might be some secret ingredient that is potentially chametz. This isn't an issue as the halakha is very clear. Once something becomes non-edible, it loses its status as food and can therefore be added to food and consumed, even if it came from a totally non kosher source. Therefore pig gelatin can be consumed, even with dairy. These "secret ingredients" or flavorings, are also not food. While there are stricter opinions that disagree with these halakhot, it does not take away from the fact that one will have very large poskim to rely upon, such as the Shulchan Arukh (YD 99). Most Kashrut agencies have policies in place to not follow these halakhot, but the actual halakha remains the same, despite their own internal policies.

  • Comments are not for extended discussion; this conversation has been moved to chat. Commented May 16, 2016 at 20:59

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .