0

This question already has an answer here:

I read (will edit source, when I locate it) that the parchment used from a Torah must come from a "kosher animal".

Does the term "kosher" mean "edible" or just an animal that is among the list of being kosher, i.e. split hooves and a ruminant. Thus, can a "kosher list" animal that was not slaughtered be used as Torah parchment?

marked as duplicate by Double AA Mar 31 '16 at 14:40

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • Why not find the source first, and make sure there is no mistake in your memory? Half-baked questions usually aren't that good. – Double AA Mar 31 '16 at 14:32
  • 1
    Rambam lists the qualifications of parchment in Hilchot Sefer Torah 1:10: [Torah] scrolls, tefillin, and mezuzot may not be written on hide from a non-kosher animal, fowl, or wild animal. One may write on the hides of [all] kosher animals, wild beasts, and fowl. This applies even when these animals died without being ritually slaughtered or when they were killed by wild beasts. – mbloch Mar 31 '16 at 14:48
  • @mbloch please move as an answer – DanF Mar 31 '16 at 15:43
  • @DanF halevai but the question was closed by the time I finished my answer ;-) – mbloch Mar 31 '16 at 16:15
  • @mbloch I commented just before the closing occurred. The linked question has a satisfactory answer. – DanF Mar 31 '16 at 18:44

Browse other questions tagged .