Is one allowed to eat hard "baked" eggs (not boiled in a pot) from a non kosher juice bar that only serves juices and eggs. Their oven is only used for eggs, as they don't serve any other food.

  • welcome to mi yodeya Gavriel. I don't know why, but I remember that there was minhagim about hard eggs. – kouty Mar 6 '16 at 20:56

no, because there would be no way to verify such a claim in a non kosher kitchen. We don't rely on the word of non-Jews for koshrus.

  • 1
    That's not true. We rely on their word if we know they could get in serious trouble if they were caught lying. You can buy certified vegan snacks at any market without a hecsher – Aaron Mar 6 '16 at 23:17
  • 1
    @Aaron, no not true. First of all vegan needs a hechsher b/c of bugs and secondly no we don't trust them. This is why part of having a hechsher involves having a mashgiach present. We don't doesn't rely on the word of someone who isn't obligated to keep kosher for kosher supervision. – Dude Mar 7 '16 at 1:23
  • @dude some vegan stuff has grape juice in it too. But Aarons point on the whole is correct. It would depend on the specific vegan product. – Double AA Mar 7 '16 at 1:28
  • @Dude A vegan place would risk losing vegan status if they had a high content of bugs in their food. Often times they are more scrupulous than hecsher agencies who often times only show up once a year. – Aaron Mar 7 '16 at 2:36
  • @Dude and why do they show up only once a year? Because like I said earlier, even hecsher agencies trust them when they know they risk to lose a lot by lying. – Aaron Mar 7 '16 at 2:37

If it is indeed only uses for eggs then there is no worry about it being not kosher in terms of ingredients. However it still falls under the category of bishul akum. So if you were to ask if it was okay for you to turn on their oven, or be a part of the cooking process in some way, then it would be permissible to eat.

  • Bishul akum applies to hard-boiled eggs? – paquda Mar 7 '16 at 1:30
  • @paquda see YD 113:14 – Double AA Mar 7 '16 at 1:37
  • @paquda Yes, all egg dishes. – Yehuda W Mar 7 '16 at 2:29

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .