3

I noticed Rav Abadi says all soft cheeses made by gentiles are kosher.

Do other poskim also hold like him? If yes please post who.

Both cottage cheese and mozzarella require rennet, so I'm not sure why companies like OU make a difference. Why do soft cheeses made by gentiles, like cottage cheese, have a hechsher, while others like mozzarella not have a hechsher?

9
  • 1
    i believe you are mistaken, cottage cheese and mozzarella don't require rennet: vegetarian.lovetoknow.com/…
    – Aaron
    Commented Jan 29, 2016 at 2:06
  • I don't understand what you are asking. R Abadi in general relies on the ingredient list (and some manufacturing knowledge) to determine if something is Kosher. What is unique about cheese in the question? VTC as Unclear.
    – Double AA
    Commented Jan 29, 2016 at 3:41
  • Note by the way that the OU probably would require a hechsher on soft cheeses, but not because of Gevinat Akum issues.
    – Double AA
    Commented Jan 29, 2016 at 4:02
  • @Double AA Cheese is a seperate issue as there is a special takanah. Rav Abadi does not matir any wine based off of ingredients, as there is a special takanah. Please note I wrote about soft cheeses. Rav Abadi does not matir hard cheeses
    – Yishaq
    Commented Jan 29, 2016 at 15:26
  • @Aaron that list just shows cheeses that use vegetarian rennet.
    – Yishaq
    Commented Jan 29, 2016 at 15:29

0

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .