Is Quinoa Kitniyos I know it is currently a machlokes can you name the sides and what is the reasoning
Per the Star-K and CRC-Chicago it is not Kitniyos
Kosher for Passover Status: Quinoa was determined to be Kosher L'Pesach. It is not related to the chameishes minei dagan-five types of grain products, nor to millet or rice. Quinoa is a member of the "goose foot" family, which includes sugar beets and beet root. The Star-K tested quinoa to see if it would rise. The result was as Chazal termed, sirchon; the quinoa decayed - it did not rise. However, recent investigations have found that there is a possibility that Quinoa grows in proximity to certain grains and processed in facilities that compromise Quinoa kosher for Passover status. Therefore, Quinoa should only be accepted with reliable Kosher for Passover supervision.
March 22, 2011
The cRc approves the use of whole grain quinoa for Pesach on the following conditions:
•The quinoa is imported exclusively from Bolivia. Ancient Harvest is one of the brands that only imports quinoa from Bolivia; there may be others. The label should state the country of origin.
•The quinoa must be carefully inspected by hand before Pesach.
This is done by spreading one layer of quinoa at a time on a board or plate and checked to be sure that there are no other grains or foreign matter mixed in with the quinoa.
This does not apply to Quinoa flour which is not permitted on Passover.
However, see this important update regarding quinoa from the CRC-Chicago for 2012 which limits from where quinoa should be used on Pesach.
Those who say it is assur hold so because it is a species that is made into flour and "bread", it is grown and harvested like grain, and it is often processed in facilities that also process real grains. These are three of the major factors when it comes to determining what is included in kitniyos.
Those who allow it do so because according to Rav Moshe Feinstein (Igros Moshe O"Ch III:63) there is no basis to extend this custom to newly discovered foods.