1

Can a Jew work in non-kosher food warehouse? I mean to lift boxes from one place to another, to load pallets filled with boxes of non-kosher stuff.

My question is about specific warehouse where there is no meat or milk, but where both kosher and non-kosher ready-to-eat seafood are packed, possibly in sauces with meat and/or milk ingredients.

And when lifting those boxes, it is clear what's inside them due to labeling.

  • AFAIK, the only problem with handling non-kosher items concerns meat / milk mixtures, which, from your description, doesn't seem to be a concern. I'm uncertain regarding 3rd party processing problems, i.e. if during manufacturing, the product was, say produced on a machine used for both milk & dairy. Of course, there may be other problems such as your being able to leave early for Shabbat, but I'm not sure if that's within the focus of your Q. – DanF Aug 10 '15 at 18:45
  • They don't store meat or milk there, BUT some products are shipped with sauce or mayonnaise dressings which MIGHT contain milk/animal source derivatives. Is that a problem? (and yeah, Friday and Shabbat are days off). – ShoulO Aug 10 '15 at 19:59
  • 1
  • Not sure if this falls under s'chora – user613 Aug 10 '15 at 20:38

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .