i understand that halal can not be trusted for meat, but what about items that are certified halal and certified vegetarian? There are many vegetarian curry pastes and other spice pastes that can be found that are both certified halal and vegetarian but don't have a kosher hechsher.

Pastes are in sealed tin cans. They say they are processed in facilities that process nuts and sesame. There is no milk or dairy in them.

  • 2
    It might have camel milk.
    – Double AA
    Commented Mar 2, 2015 at 22:25
  • It might have been ground in the same facility as not-kosher spices. As it's a Davar Charif and involves cutting, Ben Yomo may no longer help Commented Mar 2, 2015 at 23:27
  • What does this have to do with the fact that it is marked as "halal"? Wouldn't the question and answers be the same if it were unmarked?
    – WAF
    Commented Mar 4, 2015 at 1:26
  • I don't know. Does halal have anything against bugs?
    – MTL
    Commented Feb 8, 2017 at 17:25
  • @Shokhet islam.stackexchange.com/questions/24935/…
    – Aaron
    Commented Feb 8, 2017 at 21:42

2 Answers 2


It would depend both on what's in it and how it was processed. There are many ingredients that are Halal and/or vegetarian and are not kosher (e.g. non-kosher wine [which might also be vegan]; some produce from Israel; turtle eggs). Also cooking utensils/processing equipment would have to be kosher. That said, there are some products that don't require special kosher certification. See e.g. http://www.star-k.org/cons-appr-no-need.htm .

  • Sealed tin cans. The cans say it is processed in a facility that also processes sesame and peanuts.
    – Aaron
    Commented Mar 2, 2015 at 23:59
  • 2
    @Aaron CYLOR... Commented Mar 3, 2015 at 2:31
  • 2
    Loewian, wine is assur mid'oraita for Muslims Commented Mar 3, 2015 at 21:58
  • @NoachmiFrankfurt depends how MO they are;) (I have a moslem colleague who just drinks in moderation)
    – Loewian
    Commented Mar 3, 2015 at 22:10
  • 1
    Just because your Muslim friend is a reform Muslim doesn't mean alcohol is halal. Plenty of Jews just don't eat meat out. That doesn't make what they do eat kosher.
    – Daniel
    Commented Mar 4, 2015 at 1:51

There are several main problems with vegetarian/vegan products.

1) The reliability of the vegan/halal certifying agency is questionable from a Halachik perspective. (That is, can they be trusted to check carefully? Can one rely on their word?)

2) Jewish law is extremely strict on the prohibition of eating bugs, which are common in vegetable products. (Though this is less of a problem in a paste or puree where the bug cannot possibly be whole).

3) The utensils used in the facility must also be Kosher (this is less of a problem in dairy and meat free facilities).

4)Additives (color, flavor, stabilizers) may be not kosher.

Additionally, many grape products are not kosher without certification due to the special prohibition of Yayin Nesech/Stam Yaynam.

All things considered, there is a decent chance that these pastes are Kosher. You can call up most major Kashrus agencies hotlines to find out.

  • There are no listed colorings, flavorings (whether artificial or natural), stabalizers, every ingredient is a spice or vegetable.
    – Aaron
    Commented Mar 4, 2015 at 0:13

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .