So according to this article, scientists have created cheese by inserting DNA blueprints into a yeast. Essentially, the milk proteins are being created outside of any animal, through genetic engineering. The big question is, is it kosher? Would it be parve or dairy? If such a product was kosher, then supermarket cheese might be more approachable for many Jews.

  • 2
    Related: judaism.stackexchange.com/q/11269/5323 (meat)
    – MTL
    Dec 30, 2014 at 18:09
  • @Shokhet Very related! I was just thinking of the lab grown meat as I typed this question up.
    – rosenjcb
    Dec 30, 2014 at 18:10
  • Spoiler.
    – Seth J
    Dec 30, 2014 at 18:23
  • Parve or dairy, I'd bet it's not that tasty. Dec 30, 2014 at 19:28
  • ...I second that, Charles - milk, parve or plastic spongy mass...yum!
    – Gary
    Jan 1, 2015 at 4:42

1 Answer 1


I emailed the OU with this question. Here's their response:

Likely this cheese would indeed be pareve, but because of confusion (maris ayin) one would need to treat it like cheese. And one would not be permitted to eat it with meat.

Since these products are not yet commercially available, and the OU has not been asked to certify these products, the OU poskim have not yet given psakim. If this ever comes to reality, the entire process will need to be studied very carefully.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .