Sometimes I find bags of dried tea leaves of various sorts in my local Turkish store. Do such teas need a hechsher (certification as kosher)? Is there any indicator I can use to tell if it's kosher or not?

Obviously this assumes there is no hechsher on the packaging.

  • Are they from israel?
    – Double AA
    Dec 2, 2014 at 19:08
  • @DoubleAA, probably Turkey or India.
    – Ani Yodea
    Dec 2, 2014 at 19:09
  • 2
    There's a vote to close as a request for p'sak....this one is on the fence (I think), but is OK even though there is a back-story in the first person.
    – MTL
    Dec 2, 2014 at 20:59
  • 2
    @Shokhet, the actual question is posed in general form. I agree with you. The back-story provides motivation. The only thing I might change would be to substitute "one" for "I" in the second question.
    – Isaac Moses
    Dec 2, 2014 at 21:07
  • 3
    "How can I tell if this is kosher" isn't p'sak; "is this thing with ambiguous circumstances kosher" might be (depending on the rest of the question). I think this is fine. Dec 2, 2014 at 21:09

1 Answer 1


According to the CRC:

Black, green, white, yellow, oolong, and jasmine tea are all inherently kosher for Pesach, but the issues of decaffeination and flavoring apply to tea in the same way that they apply to coffee. For that reason all decaffeinated tea and all flavored tea (which includes most herbal teas) should only be used on Pesach if they bear an appropriate Pesach certification.

If it doesn't require certification for Pesach, it certainly doesn't for the rest of the year. And if it requires for Pesach, it may require for the rest of the year. Certainly the flavors are always a matter of concern all year round.

Note: This is a very American centric answer, but your profile says you are from Brooklyn, so it would seem to apply to you.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .