The Soylent company claims its vegan product (the powder – not the oil blend) is kosher certified, and the powder's manufacturer does mention Star-K, but does the powder actually have a hechsher – Star-K or other?

  • 1
    Wow! - there actually is a Soylent company! That was one great movie, with the last performance from the great Emanuel Goldenberg er, Edward G. Robinson...I thought it was amazing that he played a dying man when he knew he was dying...
    – Gary
    Commented Jun 27, 2014 at 14:15
  • @Gary :) But this isn't made from humans. I don't know if Star-K would rely on the Raavad, Tosafos, Rosh, Ramban, and Rashbah to certify it, had it indeed been human flesh.
    – Adám
    Commented Jun 27, 2014 at 14:59
  • yeah, it's a good thing they're not selling it in colored varieties! After reading the site and the VICE article, I can't see anyone eating this stuff as the heart of a nutritious lifestyle.... Imagine, no more breaking bread, just passing out packs n pitchers..!
    – Gary
    Commented Jun 27, 2014 at 19:32

5 Answers 5


I asked the Star K about it. Only the powder is certified, not the oil blend that comes with it. This is why they can't put a Star K symbol on the box.


Feb 2015 Update

Not anymore.

From Star-K on Facebook:


Soylent 1.4

Due to product reformulation, Soylent 1.4, a dietary supplement, manufactured by Rosa Labs, Los Angeles, CA, is no longer certified by Star-K. Previous versions of the Soylent product remain certified.


As of 2021, all products in Soylent's "Ready To Drink" product line are certified kosher by the OU: source on the OU website. (This does not include their "Complete Energy" energy drinks.) However, Soylent Powder is not certified, and has not been since 2015.


Kosher Certification can be verified in two ways. One, you can ask to see the Letter of Certification, the other is to contact the Star-K and ask them.

It isn't listed on the Star-K's website, and from the way your links present the representation of Kosher it may be that the company is buying Kosher product but not itself receiving certification for their own packaging. It could also be that it is listed on the Star-K's website under a corporate name that is different than the brand name, or that the website information is not up to date.

The issue with the company saying they are packaging Star-K certified product without themselves having the certification is that you only have the company's representation that this is what they are doing, and that should not be construed as Star-K certification in the generally understood sense. CYLOR.


Yes, the powder is certified by the Star-K*:

FW: Question about Rosa Labs
Fri, Jun 27, 2014 at 10:43 AM

Yes, the powder is certified by us.

Rivka Leah Goldman
Database Support Specialist
122 Slade Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21209
410-484-4110 x.220
443 334 0137
[email protected]

* Even if the Star-K symbol is not on the label. (Source: Followup question.)

  • 1
    Followup question: Is the certification valid if the Star-K is not on the label?
    – Yishai
    Commented Jun 27, 2014 at 15:28
  • @Yishai Why wouldn't it be? aish.com/atr/Is_Coca_Cola_Kosher.html
    – Adám
    Commented Jun 27, 2014 at 15:47
  • 2
    It always depends on the conditions the certification applies. Often it is required, e.g. this vs. this.
    – Yishai
    Commented Jun 27, 2014 at 16:00
  • @Yishai There you go. If it wasn't for you, I wouldn't have asked any of the two questions. :-)
    – Adám
    Commented Jun 29, 2014 at 15:07

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .