What is the status of Canola Oil for Passover?
Is it considered as kitnyos, and therefore forbidden to Ashkenazim?
Is there a definitive answer?
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It only takes a minute to sign up.Sign up to join this community
CANOLA OIL from the Orthodox Union.
Canola oil, which is a form of rapeseed oil, should be considered kitniyot.
The Star-K (Baltimore Va'ad Hakashrus also lists Canola Oil in its list of Kitniyos
CRC goes into the details as to why rapeseed oil (Canola oil) is considered kitniyos (based on Maharsham I:183 that it was used in Europe). Note that the CRC does not say that the Maharsham holds that it is asur (see the third permitted link in the answer by @DoubleAA ). The CRC uses the Maharsham to prove that rapeseed was used in Europe at that time and is therefore subject to the halacha of kitniyos. This disproves the claims of those who say Canola Oil was only used beginning in the 1970's.
While this seems to be the way most kashrus organizations rule (at least outside of Eretz Yisrael), there are those who allow kitniyos oils and those who do not consider Canola Oil as full kitniyos. Check your LOR before choosing to follow any ruling.
An example of those who consider Canola Oil mutar (because of the way it is processed) can be found at Beit Eil Yeshiva Center
Note that when you follow a particular posek or organization, you must follow both the Chumros (strictness) and kulos (leniencies) of that posek (be consistent). Someone who always chooses the stricter or more lenient of rulings could wind up violating halacha.
The Rabanut in Israel has come out saying that it is not kitnyiot. Source: http://tinyurl.com/ltsgkoz It also should be noted that Rabbi Moshe Feinstein z"l says that foodstuffs that were not known at the time of the development of the custom of kitnyiot cannot become kitnyiot (Iggerot Moshe, Orach Chaim 3:63) and since Canola Oil was developed in the 1970's, you have another source to continue to use it on Passover, even if you hold by the custom of refraining from eating kitnyiot on Passover. A full lesson on the subject can be found from the Virtual Beit MIdrash: http://vbm-torah.org/archive/moadim70/05-70moed.htm