Four chapters of Bavli M'nachos (chapters 7–10 in the Bavli's order) have two versions of Rashi printed alongside in the standard edition. Toward the top of the page is Rashi printed in regular Rashi script. Toward the bottom is a commentary labeled "manuscript Rashi" and printed in smaller type. At the beginning of the "manuscript Rashi" commentary is a note inserted by the publisher to the effect that the Shita M'kubetzes had said that the other commentary was not Rashi at all and had found a manuscript copy of the "manuscript Rashi" version.

Which version is typically/traditionally studied when learning those chapters?

  • 2
    I can't imagine anyone learning those chapters seriously and not learning both "Rashi"s and Tosfot and more. So your question seems to be limited to someone learning at a level of depth where only one "Rashi" is used.
    – Double AA
    Mar 30, 2014 at 18:19
  • 1
    @DoubleAA, one can learn for iyun or girsa. Even someone learning for iyun may, though he studies many commentaries, ignore one of the versions of Rashi, for all I know. Or maybe even people learning for girsa learn both versions. I have no idea. Any such answer, posted below, preferably sourced (e.g. "this is how I was taught it by Rabbi X in bes midrash Y"), would be most welcome.
    – msh210
    Mar 30, 2014 at 18:22

3 Answers 3


When I learned Menachos by R Dovid Soloveitchick Shlita he would learn both Rashi's - the upper one he referred to as Rashi-in-der-hoich, and the other as Rashi csav-yad. I don't remember the specific order in which he learned them. If he learned both versions, you can be sure his father did too. In fact, the Gri"z stencil on Menachos does 'handel' with both Rashi's. It seems clear that the Rishonim had the csav-yad version, while the achronim had the upper Rashi. Both are good, of course; and both are important, because they were both used, each one in its own era. I personally had more gishmak in the csav-yad. Each person to their own taste.

  • 3
    Many thanks for your input. Welcome to Mi Yodeya! I hope you stick around and enjoy the site.
    – msh210
    Dec 18, 2015 at 15:09

Menachos is considered one of the hardest masechtos and in my opinion the hardest. Artscroll uses both editions continuously. Tosfos seems to have had only the MS edition which would mean it is more authentic. There aren't any other rishonim (except perhaps the rashbo) but there is a wealth of achronim at least fifty on the otsar hachochma. I would suggest using the yad binyomin by R Elyashiv which is very well written and is often brought in the artscroll. The Mishne berura in likutai halachos does not seem to use the MS edition but the standard one so that should answer your question.


In most cases, you would learn the one that is on the top in the Vilna Shas. The second Rashi, as you said, is רש״י כת״י, or רש״י כתב יד. The "Rashi K'tav Yad" means that it was found in a manuscript. However, for many years, the standard version was used, however different it was from the old manuscript. Therefore, I would advise on learning the first version, the one that appears closer to the top of the daf. If you want to learn more and use both girsaot, go ahead! It's great to learn any Torah. Hope this answer helps you. P.S. With my chavruta, we are planning on using the standard, non-old-manuscript version.

  • Thanks, but my question was what is done typically or traditionally, not seeking advice. Your postscript is helpful, but isn't a large data set.
    – msh210
    Mar 31, 2014 at 2:48

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .