Vegans have a hard time getting enough protein on Pesach.
Is the plant that grows from a kitniyos seed also kitniyos on Pesach?
What if the seed is still attached?
Mi Yodeya is a question and answer site for those who base their lives on Jewish law and tradition and anyone interested in learning more. It only takes a minute to sign up.Sign up to join this community
Certainly CYLOR for any practical halacha if someone is protein-deficient (though missing eight days likely won't be a make or break someone who has a relatively healthy diet for the vast majority of the rest of the year), this Pesach guide interestingly writes that dill and fennel seeds are considered kitniyos, but their leaves are not. That would seem to imply the author holds kitniyos leaves are not an issue. Although there are other things in his Pesach guide which I'm not sure the OU or STAR-K would agree with, Rabbi Larry Rothwachs certainly seems to be a talmid chacham based on his distinguished Rabbinic roles.