Mishna Berura 471:2:12 says there are those that do not eat Matza starting Rosh Chodesh Nissan. May one eat Matza that is Chometz?

  • 3
    Why would it be any different than matzah ashirah (see M.B. :10)?
    – Alex
    Mar 19, 2012 at 16:46
  • 2
    Plain Chometz Matza is not made from anything other than flour and water. The only difference is that it may take longer than 18 minutes. It also tastes very similar to Kosher L'Pesach machine Matza. However Matza Ashira has juice in it and tastes significantly different. Mar 19, 2012 at 16:49
  • 2
    @Alex, bc Matzah 'Ashirah is not necessarily Hametz Gamur (hence you can feed it to the very young and infirm). Although, Gershon, how exactly would one have Matzah that is Hametz? If it is Hametz, it is by definition not Matzah, even if it looks like Matzah. It's just a cracker. If you are talking about Matzah that has become contaminated by close contact with actual Hametz, then I agree you have a good question, but I would imagine the Minhag holds. I will leave it to others to post a clearer answer, but can you clarify your intent in the question?
    – Seth J
    Mar 19, 2012 at 16:55
  • 1
    @GershonGold, I just read your comment. I think my above comment is true, and your case is not really Matzah, just a cracker.
    – Seth J
    Mar 19, 2012 at 16:56
  • 1
    @GershonGold, they may not be regarded as crackers for purposes of the Berachah (according to Ashkenazim), but that does not mean that they are Matzah LeHalachah. According to (some?) Sepharadim, even Halachic Matzah is Mezonoth throughout the rest of the year, because it is, um, a cracker and not bread.
    – Seth J
    Mar 19, 2012 at 17:08

1 Answer 1


In OC 471 sk 12, the Mishna Berurah mentions that certain types of matza which we are only machmir to treat as chametz (eg matza that folded over itself in the oven) are forbidden to be eaten on Erev Pesach as they are actually kosher matza according to the basic law. The assumption of this point is that had they actually been chametz, they would have been permitted despite tasting exactly like matza. So your chametz-crackers are permitted.

EDIT: In his footnotes to the Mishna Berura (published as ביצחק יקרא), Rav Nevenzhal says that the matza sold year round as chametz should not be eaten on Erev Pesach even before the fourth hour as it might actually be kosher matza and therefore forbbidden. He does not mention if this chumra (that it might not be chametz) applies going back to Rosh Chodesh, or only on Erev Pesach when the possible prohibition is rabbinic in nature.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .