I once heard an easy way to remember the שבע מצוות בני נח: א = אבר מו החי ב = ברכת השם ג = גזל ד = דינים ה = הרג ו = גילוי עריות ז = עבודה זרה

I am not sure if I am remembering ג ו & ז right - I don't know if ג is גזל or גילוי עריות.

I would love it if somebody could either fill in mine or have a different way of easily remembering the שבע מצוות בני נח!

  • 6
    I’ve seen people usually just say aleph, bet, gimel, dalet, and the big 3. So the letters stand for what you put, and the big 3 are simply the 3 sins that a Jew must die for rather than commit them (murder, adultery, and idolatry), also known as יהרג ואל יעבור Feb 6 at 3:25
  • 1
    I've heard it mostly like you said, though ending with ועבודה זרה and זנות.
    – Meir
    Feb 6 at 15:52

1 Answer 1


If you want an English-language acronym for the Seven Laws of Noah, CHABLIS works:

  • Courts of Justice
  • Homicide
  • Adultery (or sexual immorality in general)
  • Blasphemy
  • Limb from a living animal
  • Idolatry
  • Stealing
  • Or CABLISH or BICLASH etc. Is CHABLIS a particularly meaningful combination?
    – Double AA
    Feb 16 at 18:45
  • @DoubleAA don't think so Feb 20 at 0:29
  • @Daniel ben Noach Thanks! Feb 20 at 0:30
  • @DoubleAA: Except for being a valid dictionary word, not really. I just did a brute-force search to find a word that fit. An alternative permutation I found was "Blasphemy, Idolatry, Theft, Courts of justice, Homicide, Eating a limb from a living animal, and Sexual Immorality", but I decided to go with the less-rude acronym. Feb 20 at 1:08

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .