3

If a person forgot to put a blech on the stove, can he do it on shabbos? Sources would be appreciated.

1 Answer 1

2

There are different opinions (see here for example).

The Shemirat Shabbat KeHilchata 1:23 and 1:38 permits it, only if the fire is not that strong enough to make the blech "red-hot".

In footnote 33, Halachipedia says:

Sh”t Zera Emet 3:26 permits one to put a metal tray (with small holes) on a fire on Shabbat and then do Hachzara based on S”A 318:8 where he brings the dispute whether one can do Hachzara on an empty over the fire and rules like the lenient opinion. Chazon Ish 37:11 argues that actually placing the metal sheet on the fire is the forbidden act of Mavir based on Rambam (Shabbat 12:1, 9:6) who says that one who heats metal to mold it violates Mavir. Even though S”A 253:3 writes that on Shabbat day one can put a empty pot on a fire (and then return a pot that was on the fire right before), Chazon Ish explains that S”A is talking about a earthenware pot and not metal. However Nishmat Adam 20:1, Kesot HaShulchan (134 pg 42), Sh”t Shevet Halevi 1:91, Sh”t She’ilat Shaul 29, Chazon Ovadyah (Shabbat 1 pg 55), and Sh”t Tefilah LeMoshe 1:59 (pg 647) argue that in our case the tray won’t become hot as a coal or hot enough to be reshaped and so it should be permitted. Shemirat Shabbat KeHilchata 1:23 and 1:38 permits covering the fire on Shabbat as long as the fire isn’t strong enough to make the tray red-hot.

See also this article.

6
  • This is all assuming there isn't a problem of Kibui. Classically, a "blech" meant you were covering coals in a fireplace which is surely forbidden since it puts them out.
    – Double AA
    Jun 27 at 22:37
  • @DoubleAA but the question specified that it's about a stove
    – msh210
    Jun 28 at 11:05
  • @msh210 Some stoves burn wood.
    – Double AA
    Jun 28 at 13:05
  • 1
    Cool. Thank you very much. Jun 28 at 22:23
  • @KennyXiong no problem! Please let me know if this answer answers your question or if you need anything else.
    – Shmuel
    Jun 29 at 8:19

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .