I am somewhat familiar with the arguments about horseradish vs lettuce (or other stalks that leak white fluid) for maror. Disregarding that, assuming you follow the tradition allowing horseradish as maror, someone told me it has to be the "red" (or purple) kind of horseradish, with beet juice mixed in to color it. They gave me no explanation at the time they said this.

Is it true? If so, why? If not, any guesses why someone might think this?

  • I've never heard of using celery for maror. Do you have a source for that? If there is such an opinion it would mean one should not use celery for karpas.
    – Double AA
    Apr 10, 2022 at 2:38
  • I don't know of any sources about beet juice, but note the only Mishna which gives laws of Maror (Pesachim 2:6) explicitly excludes "pickled, stewed, or boiled" versions of whichever plant is chosen.
    – Double AA
    Apr 10, 2022 at 2:49
  • @Double AA, maybe I mispoke. I did say I was only somewhat familiar... embarrassed I'll edit the question to rephrase. Maybe the red version in the store isn't pickled, and the white version is? That would make sense... although I don't know if that's true, either. Apr 10, 2022 at 3:05
  • 1
    Welcome to MiYodeya and thanks for this first question. Great to have you learn with us!
    – mbloch
    Apr 10, 2022 at 3:20

2 Answers 2


You can't use prepared horseradish, the kind that is red or white, for maror. If you're using horseradish, it has to be raw horseradish.



From what I know, it doesn't need to be red. I personally use white horseradish every year, and I know many who do so as well. It is possible one would think this due to a combination of them not knowing any different, and seeing something about us eating certain foods on pesach to remember the blood of the jews in egypt.

  • What foods are eaten on pesach to remember the blood of the Jews in Egypt?
    – Double AA
    Apr 10, 2022 at 2:39
  • 1
    Welcome to MiYodeya and thanks for this first answer. Since MY is different from other sites you might be used to, see here for a guide which might help understand the site. Great to have you learn with us!
    – mbloch
    Apr 10, 2022 at 3:19
  • 1
    @DoubleAA The wine on pesach is supposed to be red to commemorate the blood of the jewish children that pharaoh killed, the dam milah, and the blood of the lamb that was spread on the doorposts.
    – Yaya77
    Apr 10, 2022 at 13:12
  • @DoubleAA I wonder does it have to be from red grapes or is it good enough from white grapes coloured red by red grape peel. I understand that kedem does that.
    – interested
    Apr 13, 2022 at 6:54
  • @interested Red grapes are white on the inside with red peels. Meaning all red wine is colored by the peels of red grapes.
    – Double AA
    Apr 13, 2022 at 12:45

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .