The Rambam in Shoresh 9 of Sefer HaMitzvos says that there are four categories of mitzvos:

דע שכל צוויי התורה ואזהרותיה הנה הם בארבעה דברים. בדעות ובפעולות ובמדות ובדבור

  1. Deos (Beliefs, Attitudes, Thoughts)
  2. Peulos (Actions)
  3. Middos (Character traits)
  4. Dibbur (Speech)

In the sefer itself, the Rambam doesn't categorize his list of 613 mitzvos by these categories. I was wondering if anyone ever did? Sometimes it's not obvious how to categorize them (for example, ואהבת לרעך כמוך, loving one's neighbor like onself, is deos, middos, and consists of peulos).

  • Maybe it's clear from other stuff he wrote that the commands can be so divided. But not from the part that you quote: that sounds like all the commands, or at least some, have these four aspects.
    – msh210
    Jun 14, 2020 at 17:49
  • @msh210 In the continuation, which I linked to, he seems to say a mitzvah fits into one of these types. Perhaps you're right he's not excluding the possibility that a mitzvah could be multiple in categories. I still would like a list, regardless.
    – robev
    Jun 14, 2020 at 19:55


You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .