4

So I have this product in my hand. I'm assuming that I can't always rely on the Kosher certification to indicate dairy status. I look over at the ingredients panel...

What are the ingredients I should be looking out for that would indicate dairy status?

In other words: If it had milk listed -- well yeah, that's obvious. But there are, I'm sure, lots of other funny-sounding (hard-to-pronounce) stuff that are listed that are truly dairy.

What are they?

closed as too broad by mevaqesh, sabbahillel, DonielF, Gershon Gold, Scimonster Jun 6 '17 at 21:02

Please edit the question to limit it to a specific problem with enough detail to identify an adequate answer. Avoid asking multiple distinct questions at once. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 6
    -1: I disagree with the premise of this question. I think you misinterpreted the answer you're linking to. The heksherim are very reliable about telling you when products are dairy, and pretty much always usually the best way to tell whether there are any dairy ingredients in a product (much better than seeing Sodium Caseinate or Lactoglobulin on an ingredients list and knowing that it's dairy). – Chanoch Oct 30 '11 at 0:49
  • 3
    You should look at the heksher. They're accurate. There are lots of reasons why you can't tell whether a product is dairy from the ingredients list. #1: Ingredients that you've never heard of that happen to be dairy (it would take a long time for you to build up a knowledge base to identify these accurately.) #2: when a product is made with utensils that have previously been used for dairy and not kashered. #3: I've heard that manufacturers are allowed to omit ingredients form the list if they appear in insignificant amounts (but I've never tried to find the relevant law to verify this). – Chanoch Oct 30 '11 at 1:31
  • 2
    @Chanoch sounds like a very good answer for my other question, but I'm basing this question on the answer Gershon gave. – yydl Oct 30 '11 at 1:33
  • 2
    A good place to look would probably be a resource online for people suffering from milk allergies. – Menachem Oct 30 '11 at 2:11
  • 2
    This question is also relevant for OU Dairy products when one would like to know if it is only Dairy utensils. – YDK Jul 18 '12 at 7:00
7

From Dairy Free Cooking:
(For explanations on what they are and how they're used see the link).

  • Butter
  • Casein
  • Cheese
  • Cream
  • Curd
  • Delactosed
  • Lactalbumin
  • Lactoglobulin
  • Lactose
  • Milk
  • Recaldent
  • Whey and Whey Proteins (and anything else that begins with whey)

Also check out: http://www.woodheadpublishing.com/en/book.aspx?bookID=1512

  • Products sometimes list "natural flavors" which may also be dairy. – YDK Jul 18 '12 at 7:02
  • @YDK, are you trying to say you can never be sure? If so, the question has lost all value. – Seth J Jul 18 '12 at 13:32
  • 1
    @SethJ, even if YDK is correct, not every product lists "natural flavors". – msh210 Jul 18 '12 at 15:44

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .