If one somehow consumed meat of a non-kosher species such as camel or pork (e.g. life-threatening illness, or by accident), does s/he become Fleishig?

Why or why not?


3 Answers 3


The reason one "becomes fleishig", i.e. cannot eat dairy after eating meat, is because of remaining meat in his mouth or esophagus which he cannot have with milk. Now, the Shach and Taz (and Baer Hetev after them, all at 87:3) say there's no meat-and-milk prohibition on eating milk with pork (or other non-kosher animals), so I'd have to assume there's also no problem with eating it afterward. But, as always, CYLOR with practical questions.


The earliest source I know of is Mishna Chullin 8:4, which says one is allowed to cook (and derive benefit from) meat from a non-kosher animal in kosher-animal milk, or meat from a kosher animal in non-kosher-animal milk.

Meat from a kosher animal (say, cattle), even if the meat itself is not kosher (e.g. it was not slaughtered) may not be cooked with milk.


Concurring with msh210. The Biblical prohibition on meat-with-milk only applies to kosher species. Presumably Chazal didn't bother adding a rabbinic prohibition if someone chooses to cook their pork in milk.

So no, it wouldn't render the person "fleishig."

  • +1. Not just "Presumably": The Shach and Taz I link to in my answer say that that's precisely the reason that the prohibition doesn't apply.
    – msh210
    Commented Oct 16, 2011 at 23:58

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .