The current Judaic calendar allows for three types of year lengths:

  • Chaser ("missing") - 353 days
  • Kesidra ("in order") - 354 days
  • Shalem ("full") - 355 days

(Add 30 to each of the above for leap years.)

Is there a set of rules that explain the sequence / possibilities of the year types? For example, I noticed that this year, 5779 is a leap year / shaleim and 5780 will be a non-leap year shaleim . Offhand, I don't recall two maleh years concecutively, and I assume that this can occur only if one is a leap year and the other is not. (I.e., you wouldn't see two consecutive non-leap shleimim.)

I gather that the sequence depends mainly on the day of week that Rosh Hashanna begins as there are a limited number of kviyot allowed for each possible weekday. But, I haven't been able to locate something that explains the possible sequence of the year types.

  • You can figure this all out by yourself with 10 minutes, a pencil, and paper. judaism.stackexchange.com/a/75798/759 – Double AA Aug 7 '19 at 16:18
  • It's not so common, but you can have two non-leap shleimah years consecutively, for example 5739 and 5740 were בשה and זשג. – Meir Aug 7 '19 at 18:12
  • Are you looking for the chart in the Tur OH 428 ? – פרי זהב Aug 7 '19 at 18:33
  • @פריזהב, note that the standard printing of that chart has mistakes in it. The one in Pri Chadash, same siman, is much more accurate. – Meir Aug 7 '19 at 20:52
  • @Meir - Good point. The Biur Halacha beginning of 428 notes that, but the new Tur Machon Shiras Devorah has a corrected one based on earlier printings of the Tur. – פרי זהב Aug 7 '19 at 21:01

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .