2

I'm a Jew from Iran. I want to know if baking powder is kosher without any certificate since they don't exist in Iran. Generally baking powder include TARTARIC ACID.

closed as off-topic by DonielF, Double AA Jun 25 at 11:50

This question appears to be off-topic. The users who voted to close gave this specific reason:

  • "Questions asking for a practical ruling (p'sak halacha) are off-topic. For practical advice consult your rabbi. Try to broaden the question so it applies to a wider audience, such as by asking what sources are applicable to the question. (More information.)" – DonielF, Double AA
If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • Welcome to MiYodeya and thanks for this first question. Can I recommend you take the tour to get a sense of how the site works? Great to have you learn with us! – mbloch Jun 25 at 7:28
  • Hi @Moshiach! I don't know if you are able to access Israeli websites but dinonline.org is a good place for these kinds of questions. Kol tov! – Josh K Jun 25 at 7:59
4

Star-K, a recognized kosher authority, writes here that baking powder is kosher without a hekhsher, if they do not have additives and if food items are not a product of Israel. R Moshe Vaye, a leading kosher food authority in Bnei Brak, agrees.

Tartaric acid is a natural component of baking powder and not an additive (see e.g., here). Both OU Kosher and CRC write it is kosher without supervision.

Therefore there appears to be no issue with baking powder. Still, since we are not familiar with Iranian manufacturing processes, it would be worth asking other observant Jews if their custom is to use baking powder without certification.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .