Regardless of how one holds re: "Is human flesh a kosher food?" (ie if Yes= legitimate question,
if No= additional issur)-

Would the prohibition of Gid Hanashe apply to human flesh?

  • 1
    Does it apply to non kosher animals?
    – robev
    Jun 13, 2019 at 1:39
  • 1
    It does not apply to tamei animals
    – sam
    May 5, 2021 at 14:18

2 Answers 2


Yes ,according to the Rashba there is a prohibition of gid hanashe by a human. This is brought in the Mishneh Lamelech al HaRambam 8:1 .

Text of Mishneh Lemelech:

גיד הנשה נוהג בבהמה וחיה הטהורים. נ"ב איסור גיד הנשה נוהג אף באדם כ"כ הרשב"א סי' שס"ד יע"ש:

For further discussion see the Darkei Teshuva hilchos Dam 65 where there is a whole discussion about this.

Text of Darkei Teshuva:

enter image description here


It seems that the prohibition does not apply to human flesh. My reasoning is that it is not mentioned in the Mishnah, Rambam, or Shulchan Aruch. All that is mentioned is beheimoh and chayoh (kosher land animals) and the possibility of fowl. The prohibition does not apply to non-kosher animals. If it did apply to human flesh, which is not kosher, it should have been mentioned.

חולין פ"ט ב : גיד הנשה וכו' ונוהג בבהמה ובחיה וכו' ואינו נוהג בעוף מפני שאין לו כף

רמב"ם הל' מאכלות אסורות ח:א, ד-ה : גיד הנשה נוהג בבהמה וחיה הטהורין ואפי' בנבלות וטרפות שלהן וכו' העוף אין בו משום גיד הנשה מפני שאין לו כף ירך אלא יריכו ארוך ואם נמצא עוף שירכו כירך הבהמה שיש לו כף גיד הנשה שלו אסור ואין לוקין עליו וכו' האוכל גיד הנשה מבהמה וחיה הטמאים פטור לפי שאינו נוהג בטמאה אלא בבהמה שכולה מותרת

שו"ע יו"ד סה:ה : גיד הנשה נוהג בבהמה וחיה וכו' ואינו נוהג בעוף מפני שאין כף שלו עגול אבל אם נמצא לו כף עגול נוהג בו

  • 5
    This is the reasonable response, but it is interesting to consider that the prohibition is based on specifically a human's tendon
    – Double AA
    Jun 13, 2019 at 1:53
  • The Chinuch sides with you
    – sam
    May 5, 2021 at 15:05

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .