It is not a secret that we discover new things in all fields of science, not mentioned in our sources all the time.

We know that in Judaism the 7 planets represent/aligned with 7 spiritual forces and influences, like is Sefer Hayetzirah 4:12:

"ואלו הן שבעה כוכבים בעולם חמה נוגה כוכב לבנה שבתאי צדק מאדים. ואלו הן ז' ימים בשנה שבעה ימי בראשית. ושבעה שערים בנפש שתי עינים שתי אזנים ושני נקבי האף והפה. ובהן נחקקו שבעה רקיעים ושבע ארצות ושבע שעות. לפיכך חבב שביעי לכל חפץ תחת השמים: "

" So now, behold the Stars of our World, the Planets which are Seven; the Sun, Venus, Mercury, Moon, Saturn, Jupiter and Mars. The Seven are also the Seven Days of Creation; and the Seven Gateways of the Soul of Man—the two eyes, the two ears, the mouth and the two nostrils. So with the Seven are formed the seven heavens, the seven earths, and the seven periods of time; and so has He preferred the number Seven above all things under His Heaven."

How did Rabbis fit (if anything) the newly discovered planets into the spiritual system of G-d's Creation?

  • 3
    Just FYI Pluto is no longer considered a planet – Joel K May 3 '19 at 10:20
  • 4
    And the other dwarf planets and the hundreds of asteroids and kuiper belt objects and planets orbiting other stars? – Heshy May 3 '19 at 10:27
  • 3
    @JoelK Neither are the sun and moon – b a May 3 '19 at 10:28
  • 4
    The point of these are that they are individually visible with the naked eye. The stars are too far away to determine and are therefore grouped into the constellations. – sabbahillel May 3 '19 at 13:54
  • 2
    @DavidKenner In this case he obviously means the rabbis who lived after the other planets were discovered. – sabbahillel May 3 '19 at 18:04

You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .