Tag Info

Hot answers tagged


This only applies to the five grains: wheat, barley, oats, spelt, and rye. They all have the same cutoff date (16th of Nisan). Yoreh Deah 293


חמשה דברים חיבין בחלה, החטים והשעורים והכסמין ושבלת שועל ושיפון. הרי אלו חיבין בחלה, ומצטרפין זה עם זה, ואסורין בחדש מלפני הפסח, ומלקצור מלפני העמר. ואם השרישו קדם לעמר, העמר מתירן. ואם לאו, אסורין עד שיבוא העמר הבא.‏ Five [species] are obligated in Challah: chittah, se'orah, kusemet, shibbolet shu'al, and shifon. These are obligated in ...


There are four reasons some permit chodosh, as described in this article: 1 Many authorities permitted the new grain, because the new crop may have been planted early enough to be permitted, and, in addition, the possibility exists that the available grain is from a previous crop year, which is certainly permitted. This approach accepts that chodosh ...


The Rabbis taught that the prohibition of חדש (new grain) only applies to the five types of דגן (grain) that undergo חימוץ (fermentation): חטים, שעורים, כסמין, שבלת שועל, שיפון. Traditionally, these have been assumed to be wheat and barley which are mentioned explicitly in the Torah ("ארץ חטה ושעורה"), and spelt, oats, and rye, which the Rabbis said are ...

Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible