Tag Info

Hot answers tagged


R' Yaakov Shechter maintains that while it is very nice to have a minyan, it is not a necessity, and a Siyum is considered a 'Sedudas Mitzva' irrespective as to how many are present. כל ענין המניין הוא רק לחבב המצוה ולעשות את הסעודה לגומרה של תורה ברוב עם, אבל השמחה היא בעצם הסיום וראוי לערוך על כך סעודה גם בינו לבין עצמו ודינה כסעודת מצוה לכל דבר וענין. ...


According to the Beit Yoseph, certain sirchos are kosher without any further bedika (examination). These are sircha c'sidran and sircha b'dophen tsar. An animal which has such sirchot is kosher Beit Yoseph, but is not chalak. If it has no sirchos at all, it is chalak. The Rama himself did not allow those sirchos which the Beit Yoseph allowed, in fact the ...


A relative of mine (no further source available) suggested that on Pesach, we became a new nation. Just as one is extremely careful with a newborn infant, for whom an injury or illness can be much more severe than for an adult, one is extremely careful with the laws of Pesach - the holiday of the nation's birth.

Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible