Tag Info

Hot answers tagged


It is not the case that a ruling in the Talmud will always overcome any possible custom developed later. In Talmudic times, there was no customary prohibition of kitniyot. Rav Huna, in the quote, is giving an example of what may be used as the two cooked dishes, even though of course other simple dishes would be fine as well. And he specifies orez (which ...


There were briefly those who'd heard of this thing called coffee -- it's a "bean", you grind it -- who wondered if it were kitniyot. This was quickly rejected, I don't recall who it was who'd said "if you ever saw a coffee plant, you'd understand why it's not kitniyos." Very simply -- all kitniyos, like the 5 grains, are annuals. Coffee and chocolate are ...


Just because the English word is 'bean' does not mean that it is kitniyos. A good explanation can be found at What is Kitniyot? Here is the initial summary of that article. You can read the details there. Authored by the Orthodox Union. Copyright © 2008 Orthodox Union In addition to the Torah’s restrictions on owning, eating and benefiting from ...


There is no definitive answer. Some links permitting and some forbidding and some equivocating. It's hard to say either side should be viewed as violating halacha.


CANOLA OIL from the Orthodox Union. Canola oil, which is a form of rapeseed oil, should be considered kitniyot. The Star-K (Baltimore Va'ad Hakashrus also lists Canola Oil in its list of Kitniyos CRC goes into the details as to why rapeseed oil (Canola oil) is considered kitniyos (based on Maharsham I:183 that it was used in Europe). Note that the CRC ...


I am a Jew of Spanish Morrocan ancestry - my father always told me that Moroccons and actal Spanish Jews never ate kitniyot including rice itself unless they were fresh and green - the reason -Spain was close to Ashkenaz and the gzeira of kitniyot crossed the border and true Sepharadic Jews (Spanish as opposed to Jews of Arab lands) accepted the gzeira, as ...


I heard from R. Nota Greenblatt that R. Moshe Feinstein permitted all kitniyos derivatives. This is his psak as well.


Curious about Kitniyot? While we don’t know exactly when this minhag began, one of the earliest sources to mention the custom is the Sefer Mitzvot Katan, written by Rabbi Yitzchak of Courville (France, 1210-1280). Rabbi Yitzchak writes that some communities have the custom of not eating kitniyot during Pesach, even though these items are clearly ...


AFAIK that kitniyot is nullified in a majority is universally agreed upon. The Rama (OC 453:1) writes that we do not forbid a mixture into which kitniyot fell, and the Mishna Berura there notes that obviously this means that there must be at least a majority of non-kitniyot and that if any piece of kitniyot is visible (nikkar) one must pick it out.

Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible