New answers tagged

2

There are several ways that products can be gluten free but not kosher for Passover. Gluten free oats which have not been baked into matzahs in the appropriate manner for Passover (as mentioned in another answer). It is worth pointing out for those who are coeliac or highly sensitive to gluten that most oats are contaminated by glutenous grains such as ...


0

No because gluten free doesn't necesarily mean no chametz. One very common way of making something gluten free is by adding enzymes which specifically break down gluten. Many of these products still contain grains which have become chametz though.


7

No because they could still contain products made from gluten free grains, such as oats, which are still one of the 5 grains we must guard against becoming chametz (Shulchan Arukh 453:1). Although it is worth mentioning (as DoubleAA points out in the comments) that oats may not actually be one of the 5 grains. However i am not aware of any poseks that will ...


1

Chabad specifically makes it chunky and dry in order not to cause problems with gebrokts


1

According to the OU's daily halacha, Shulchan Aruch (Orach Chaim 308:32) writes that unsalted raw fish is muktza, because it serves no purpose on Shabbos. However in our days, if one has cuts of raw fish that are edible as sushi, then they are not muktza. However, Rav Belsky, zt”l, questioned whether one may make sushi on Shabbos. The Chayei ...


5

The Bach in O.C. Siman 167 has a nice explanation of this. He starts by pointing out that the word "hamotzi" is the preferred word for the blessing, even though the word "motzi" would suffice, because "hamotzi" implies both past and future tense (Berachos 38a). The intent, he says, is both on this bread which came out of the ground, and on the bread that ...


3

In Psalms 104.14 it is written "Lehotzi lechem min ha'aretz" צְמִיחַ חָצִיר, לַבְּהֵמָה, וְעֵשֶׂב, לַעֲבֹדַת הָאָדָם; לְהוֹצִיא לֶחֶם, מִן-הָאָרֶץ. I have always assumed that this was the source of the text, and a shiur from Rav Ya'akov Nagan from Yeshivat Othniel also gives this source.


0

The main "fruit" is generally what the final product is. Bread is generally the final product of wheat, especially when Chazal were instituting brachos. Therefore it says lechem and not chitah. It is for this same reason that some say the bracha of Ha'eitz on tropicana orange juice and hershey's chocolate. It is because those plants were cultivated ...


1

Introduction The question is based on similarities between wine and bread, contrasting with their differences in blessing style. Bread is better than wheat seed. So praise for the gift-bread is a bigger than praise for gift-seed. The main reason why humanity grows wheat is for bread to eat. the fruit (i.e. the proceeds from wheat) is the bread. Sources and ...


2

Unfortunately, I don't remember where I heard this, but I heard that the apparently-incongruous wording of the blessing is there to make us realize that even though bread is only edible thanks to a great deal of human activity, we still have to thank God for it as if it sprouted, fully-formed, from the ground, since all of the human activity was only ...


3

The Rashba in a teshuva (1:823) explains that the Mishnah refers to the beracha of borei nefashot as "velo klum - nothing" because this beracha is unique in that it has no connection to the food eaten. The Rashba explains that even the beracha of shehakol is a blessing to God for creating everything, a catchall beracha, unlike borei nefashot which blesses ...


1

Whether or not one would make a Beracha on it is subject to a dispute of the Rishonim. Tosefos to Berachos 12a s.v. לא לאתויי נהמא cites a dispute between the Rif and the Ri about whether or not one makes a beracha rishona when unsure if a previous blessing covered it, with the Rif saying no and the Ri saying yes. The Rif is understood according to the ...


0

If you are eating it (kavono) for the meal, to get full (or it is usual that a meal is based on it (fish, meat...) it is covered . for pleasure or as a dessert (to clean the taste in your mouth/thought) then it is not covered (if not something that a meal is based on) So by chips it depends on your kavono Shulchan aruch harav 177


0

Don't eat it - is the chosid way to do . eat it without a brocha -is the halocho. To say shehakol - is forbidden (shehakol you can only say if you know (100%) you need to say a brocho Some other option - go learn. you can start with the comments on the question,


1

Chips are covered by Hamotzi! This topic is one of the most common and important on brachot. What is the central topic? The extent of the Iqar veTafel (Basic vs. Accessory) principle What is included into a Motsi meal? We will treat the problem of the first blessing (Bracha Rishona) only. First let's look Gemara Massechet Brachot 41b אמר רב פפא הלכתא ...


6

Raisins are grapes and are treated the same. That is, since you know the location of grapes in the order of precedence (one of the seven species and where grapes fall in that list) then the position of raisins is the same. I am showing the bracha acharona for raisins to show that they are treated exactly the same as grapes as far as being one of the seven ...


-1

Then there's the off-color folk drash saying the salt water represents the sea which reached the Israelites' hips when they waded through it. (Remember the colloquial Hebrew/Yiddish sense of ביצים BEITZIM = eggs. Yes, the Torah clearly says the waters parted completely and the Israelites walked on dry land [Sh'mot/Exodus 14], but perhaps some stragglers ...


0

My family did this growing up and we were told is was to represent the tears cried, while celebrating new life. To always remember there is joy and sorrow. I always loved the taste of the dish.



Top 50 recent answers are included