Tag Info

New answers tagged


Yes, but some adaptations must be made for technical reasons. One should not say a beracha before the food or drink is before him BUT One may not say a beracha when there is an exposed breast present. Ergo, one may not say a beracha on breast milk unless perhaps he first observes the breast, then goes behind a mechitza to say the beracha.


Apparently, some Dannon yogurts (with K) and Yoplait yogurts (with KD) are under the supervision of Rabbi David Sheinkopf and Rabbi Barnett Hasden, respectively. (Regarding Rabbi Hasden's hashgacha, see this related question). I'm not certain whether either of those rabbis provide supervision with kashrus standards that are widely considered acceptable. ...


Dannon has OU Certification on some products. The ones with a plain K are certified by Rabbi Dr. David I. Sheinkopf. Those products contain Beef Gelatin which some Kosher Certifiers will allow even if the cows were not slaughtered in a Kosher manner. I imagine that Dannon doesn't say the D because it is considered obvious. That used to be standard practice ...


If the chocolate was pareve, then based on YD 95:2, it would seem to be permitted to consume, even if some say it should not have been poured to begin with. If the chocolate was dairy then the pot, chocolate, and cheesecake are not kosher.


There is a reason for it. The Mechaber in OC 451:26Says: כו. כלי זכוכית אפילו מכניסן לקיום ואפילו משתמש בהן בחמין אין צריכים שום הכשר שאינם בולעים ובשטיפה בעלמא סגי להו. הגה: ויש מחמירין ואומרים דכלי זכוכית אפילו הגעלה לא מהני להו וכן המנהג באשכנז ובמדינות אלו My loose translation: Glass vessels even if one stores in them and even if they were used for ...


You can ask the OU to confirm, but yes, they have a Jew present constantly when the cheese is being made. They may have some days where the cheese is not Kosher and they have arrangements to have that sold as non-Kosher. Yes, that is expensive. Next to meat, it is the most expensive form of Kosher certification. See here: The supervision provided by ...

Top 50 recent answers are included